Electric motor shaft

Old 11-01-17, 11:01 AM
H
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Electric motor shaft

I have a tablesaw with a three hp motor, the pulley must have lost its key way, and wore down the shaft. The pulley was not damaged but now it is too big for the worn shaft. Need to know how fix. Motor to replace is over three hundred dollars. I could grind down to 1/2 inch. But the pulleys I have found for this size do not have keyway. I don,t think a little set screw will hold this pulley to its shaft. Can I buy a sleeve to fit over the ground down 1/2 inch shaft to bring back up to original 5/8 and still utilize the keyway. To have someone replace the shaft I would think to be to costly. Of course I don't know. I am way out of my league with this, I have no knowledge in this area. I would appreciate any help. Can get to solve this problem, short of throwing a whole lot of money at it. Thanks for any advise,

Old 11-01-17, 11:27 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,152 Upvotes on 1,927 Posts
Your problem is that the motor shaft was not worn down evenly and I doubt you will be able to simply grind it down to 1/2" accurately enough. If you can have the shaft machined to be .500 and a keyway cut then you can use a shaft bushing. A larger than normal key will then bridge from the keyway in the motor shaft, through the spacer and to the pulley. All of this relies on precision so the parts don't slop around and quickly wear out so it's beyond using a grinder. It will have to be machined.

The other alternative is to weld the pulley onto the motor shaft. Depending on how much the shaft and pulley have worn it won't last forever but it can get you running for a while. Of course this means that the pulley and motor will never come apart again so in the future both will have to be replaced.

Old 11-01-17, 12:11 PM
A
Received 73 Upvotes on 66 Posts