Tank drain on older Campbell Hausfeld air compressor?

Old 06-05-19, 07:56 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Question Tank drain on older Campbell Hausfeld air compressor?

My first post, hello everyone!

I'm new to air compressors, but recently bought a used Campbell Hausfeld 20 gallon 5HP electric air compressor (oil free) model number WL610002AJ off of craigslist, and I have a question about the tank drain valve... because I can't find one on this unit.

I looked on the bottom of the air tank and all that's down there is a round "plate"-type fitting with a raised hexagonal surface on it. It's about 2.5 to 3 inches or so in diameter. It does NOT look inviting.

So I was wondering if some older consumer compressors like this one might not have been equipped with a tank drain valve... or if I'm supposed to crank that big plate out of the tank... or ?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can give me any feedback on this.

WW

Sponsored Links
Old 06-05-19, 08:56 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 74 Votes on 70 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

There should be a petcock on the bottom of the tank. If you could post a pic of the part in question we'd have a better idea of what you are looking at
https://www.doityourself.com/forum/e...-pictures.html

Old 06-05-19, 09:41 AM
Thanks marksr, as soon as I get home from work I'll take a picture and post it. -- WW

Old 06-05-19, 09:50 AM
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Looks like it is located towards the front of the tank....#8 in the following

https://mastertoolrepair.com/portabl...p-1117888.html

Old 06-05-19, 01:58 PM
one mystery solved, one more thing to fix

If I had looked more closely late last night I would have seen what I'm showing you now in this picture.

I found where the drain plug should be but it's still not there... at least not ALL of it... looks like it got busted off sometime in the past.