Why is my linear actuator so slow?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-15-20, 10:57 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why is my linear actuator so slow?

I just purchased a 20inch stroke linear actuator. The specifics are the following on the ebay site:
Voltage: DC 12V
Maximum push/pull: Approx. 6000n/6000n
Optional stroke: 200mm, 100mm, 250mm, 350mm, 400mm, 450mm, 500mm
No-load speed: Max. 5mm/s
Rated load rate: 5mm/s(600kg)
Environment temperature: -26C to +65C
Standard protection level: IP54
Built-in stroke switch: Yes

My question is, why is it SO SLOW? If it's true 5mm/s, it should only take 1 minute and 40 seconds. However, I just measured it and for five minutes, it only goes 44.45mm. Now, instead of using a 12v battery, I'm using an AC Adapter with output 12.0V --- 2000mA. Does this has anything to do with the speed?
 

Last edited by Charlie2; 06-15-20 at 11:25 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-15-20, 12:10 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,744
Received 631 Votes on 583 Posts
That is one thing you have to watch out for on Ebay. The specs are not always accurate. It's most likely that the listing is incorrect. The no load and fully loaded speed being the same is a red flag. It could be a different voltage or it could be designed for a much slower travel speed though you only got 8mm/minute which is ridiculously slow.

You could try running it off a 12v battery to see if there is much difference. A fully charged lead acid (car) battery will be about 12.9 volts which should speed it up a bit but it won't be a huge difference.
 
  #3  
Old 06-15-20, 12:12 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 592
Received 19 Votes on 18 Posts
could try it on a battery and see what it does may be the adapter.
 
  #4  
Old 06-16-20, 01:25 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,506
Received 157 Votes on 144 Posts
Measure the voltage when running it.
 
  #5  
Old 06-16-20, 06:01 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,134
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
A couple of things you need to consider.
some actuators have a fixed rate of extension up to their rated load.
This is so that when used with other actuators they operate at similar speeds.
The other thing is if you have a modified sine wave power adapter which yours likely is the dirty power could affect the electronics within the actuator.
As said, use a battery or a battery that stays connected to a charger.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: