Compressor pump motor type?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-13-20, 06:57 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: united states
Posts: 197
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Compressor pump motor type?

Acquired an identical pump to which I already own and need both running. Whats already running is a stage oil lube 11 CFM @90 PSI What was paired with it from the manufacturer is a 3.7 HP 220 volt continuous running motor. I was given the same pump and need it running as well but need to get a motor for it and rather not have to run 100 ft of 220 back to the same spot as the other so 2 questions. Can I get a 220 volt motor and run both off the same 20 amp breaker which is 12/2 wire or is there a 120 volt motor out there than will run this pump just not at full CFM?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-13-20, 10:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,231
Received 1,119 Votes on 1,039 Posts
Can I get a 220 volt motor and run both off the same 20 amp breaker which is 12/2 wire
You need to check the amperage draw of the motor as listed on the ID tag. It would be very doubtful to run two off of one circuit. If one was running..... the second one would trip the breaker when starting.

is there a 120 volt motor out there than will run this pump just not at full CFM?
There again..... very doubtful. When a 240v motor is run on 120v..... the current it draws doubles. At 100' it would more than likely be over 20A.
 
  #3  
Old 07-14-20, 05:32 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: united states
Posts: 197
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are several other 120 volt lines in the vicinity that are not on the same breaker as to why id rather use a 120 volt motor for the second pump. Sorry I didnt mention that but that is why I wanted to know if it was possible to run a pump that was built to be ran by a 220 volt motor by a 120 volt motor. Would it burn up the motor or just run it at a lower CFM or etc etc.
 
  #4  
Old 07-14-20, 07:02 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,817
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Hi, 3.7 HP motor, strange, thats right at the limit of a 20 amp 240 volt circuit now, any chance of converting one of the other 120 volt lines to 240?
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 07-17-20, 06:24 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: united states
Posts: 197
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The 3.7 HP motor says 15 amp on the tag. I guess what I am asking will a 120 volt motor at a lower HP burn up trying to turn the pump or just put out less CFM.

The multiple 120s in the vicinity are on the same breaker so cant make another 240 from it.
 
  #6  
Old 07-17-20, 11:01 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,231
Received 1,119 Votes on 1,039 Posts
I am asking will a 120 volt motor at a lower HP burn up trying to turn the pump or just put out less CFM.
The motor has no idea what your intentions are. It will try to deliver its designed horsepower and when it can't it will burn up.
 
  #7  
Old 07-19-20, 06:13 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: united states
Posts: 197
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I found a 3hp motor that will run off of 115/230 so im going to give that one a try with a 2 inch pulley rather than the recommended 3 inch. I am sure there is some fancy mathematical equation to properly equate the proper size pulley to negate the .7hp difference but I am okay with trying 1 inch smaller and spinning the pump slower for less CFM. Any hard nays?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: