ISO a saw to cut metal without penetrating past the metal surface

Old 09-11-21, 03:01 PM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ISO a saw to cut metal without penetrating past the metal surface

I'm trying to cut through metal sheeting under my RV to access a tank leak. The sheeting is about 1/8". I've discovered, while trying to unscrew the sheeting, that there is wiring just above the sheeting in at least two places. The screws are proving impossible to remove enough that I can take off the sheeting. I want to cut a hole in the area of the leak, which I'm hoping is just from a pipe. I'm an amateur, not very familiar with tools. Is there a saw that will cut through 1/8" metal while only going an inch or so into the area above it?

Old 09-11-21, 03:16 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,534 Votes on 1,378 Posts
If your metal is 1/8", your blade only needs to go slightly more than 1/8" deep. No point in cutting 1" deeper. It's hard to make a recommendation without knowing how tight of quarters you're working in. We also don't know what the metal is... steel or aluminum.

You could use something as straightforward as a skilsaw with the right blade. Or a dual saw. If its aluminum, an oscillating tool could work. Or depending on what you need to do, you could use a drill and hole saw to make several holes... 2 big enough for your hands, and one to look through. Or just one hole... so that you can get your hand in there to feel for wires and move or raise them before you cut. A grinder could work as long as you know your aren't going to cut into anything from below.

Old 09-12-21, 01:42 AM
Received 952 Votes on 864 Posts
I've discovered, while trying to unscrew the sheeting
You might want to give this some more thought.

Any idea what is behind that panel that you might destroy attempting to cut the panel off not to mention how are you going to reinstall?

I'd suggest going back to the screws and see what can be done to get them out to access the panel.