Window Bench

Old 09-19-01, 01:14 PM
Visiting Guest
Wink

Does anyone know where I can get simple plans for building a window bench in our master bedroom. I am new at wood working and need some simple.
Thanks for any help,
Gordon

Old 09-20-01, 02:27 AM
Visiting Guest
Don't know of any off hand. I have seen a few in some woodworking books. But if you want an easy way out, go to Home Depot or Lowes and buy some unfinished, prefab cabinets to use as your building blocks. One or two of the units that typically go over a refrigerator make an excellent base for the seat portion. Then you could get taller units to go on either side if you wish to provide extra storage and a place to set lamps, pictures, etc. Build a simple box base for each unit to set the cabinets on and screw them down to the floor/wall and connect them together to make a rigid window seat structure.

Secure 3/4 hardwood ply to the top of the seat portion along with tops on any side units you use. You don't even have to put hinges on the top since you have cabinet doors in the front. Finish it as desired. Cover a piece of thick foam cut to size for the seat, put some lamps on the side units and you have a window seat.

Note: If you have a central air vent where you are going to place the window seat, you will need to provide space in the base you build for the heat and air to enter into the room. You can either buy duct made for that purpose or just build a channel in the base that directs the air to an opening in the toe kick area of the base that you build. You can get little vents made for use in cabinet toe kick areas.

Also, check out some woodworking books for ideas and search the web for "window seats".

Good luck.

Old 09-23-01, 01:27 AM
some help
Visiting Guest
Hello
Do you have a Bay window you want to install the seat/bench in or is it going to be if front of a window on a flat wall....?