Cordless power tools

Old 01-11-02, 02:37 AM
Cordless power tools

I recently purchased a Ryobi cordless combination tool set. It includes an 18Volt cordless drill, circular saw, reciprocating saw & flashlight.

I'm not a professional but I do like to do some stuff on my own. I tried researching it prior to buying it and there was very little stuff out there. The few reviews I saw actually rated it well. They seem to rate the Dewalt & Milwaukee somewhat better but for the non professional such as myself I don't feel the difference warranted the significant difference in price.

What is your opinon & what is the actually differences between the Dewalt & Milwaukee 18v cordless drills (& other tools) versus the Ryobi in terms of why one is "better" & how much better are they in practice?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 01-11-02, 03:04 AM
You are correct the Milwalkee and the DeWalt are more of a "pro" quality. They are heavier duty for a lot of day to day use. For the DIY'r, get what you feel works the best for you. I tend to buy my tools from either somewhere that has reconditioned tools, or go to the local pawn shops and find them there. I occasionaly work with the local Habitat for Humanity chapter and I seem to be the "tool" guy when I work there and people ask to use my tools. That's where you see the difference. Also these are the brands that tool rental places use because they are heavier duty. When you go that route, the price point gets a lot closer.

Old 01-11-02, 03:48 AM
rs_petty
Visiting Guest