Old Table Saw Motor?


  #1  
Old 04-16-02, 06:53 PM
mixer440
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Old Table Saw Motor?

Hello:
I have an old Shopmaster 8" Table Saw and need a new motor (don't have the old one).

The manual says that the blade turns at 4000 RPM and that a 1/2-3/4 HP motor is required.

Looking at the saw table, I can see that the blade shaft has close to an 2" pulley and the motor has a 4" pulley.

Besides needing an enclosed motor around 1/2 hp, what RPM do I need? I'm guessing that the 2:1 ratio on the pulleys makes the blade turn faster and so around 2000 rpm for the motor. Am I thinking right? Looking at motor the closest I've found is 1750 and that will only give me 3500 rpm. Is that fast enough?

I guess the real question might be: Is this table saw worth keeping?

Thanks for your ideas.
 
  #2  
Old 04-17-02, 06:22 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,025
Received 68 Votes on 57 Posts
I have about a 50 yr old Delta "Homecraft" that I upgraded from the old 3/4 motor to a 1 hp (motor wasn't original anyway). Mine is a 3450 rpm and the pulleys are 3" on the motor and about 2 1/2" on the blade (a little over 4000 rpm if I'm doing the math right) which works fine and I use oak a lot.

If the rest of saw seems to be in okay condition and nothing overly worn, probably worth keeping. New motor should run you about $100 if you shop around. I got my motor from Woodworkers Supply (their store brand "Woodtek"). The 1hp 3450 is 109.99 and the 1/2hp is 79.99. Only problem I have is that the motor is physically taller than the one I replaced and because of how the motor is mounted, I can't rip with the blade at 45 deg because the motor interfers. It's fixable, just haven't gotten around to it and rarely need to rip at 45 deg anyway.
If you go 1hp, you may need a 20a circuit for it.
 
  #3  
Old 04-17-02, 06:25 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,025
Received 68 Votes on 57 Posts
Oh, their 3/4 hp 3450 is $94.99 and rated at 10a, so could use that on a 15a circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 04-18-02, 08:55 AM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You should be able to go to any motor shop and they can either repair or find a suitable replacement for your old motor.

I brought my attic fan motor to a place and simply by looking at the old #s on the motor and a catalog, the lady found me a replacement for 100 bucks.

That being said, I contacted the original company and it turns out it was warrantied, so I got a new motor for free . Lol.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: