sharpening center

Old 05-29-02, 03:39 AM
arthropod98
Visiting Guest
sharpening center

back again with another question.

i JUST received my delta sharpening center yesterday, and i started playing with it. but, i'm wondering if you could direct me somewhere for some basic sharpening tips?? or, is there a book you could recommend??

thanks in advance!!

Old 05-30-02, 08:50 PM
Admin Emeritus
Upvotes: 0
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hello: arthropod98

Basic sharpening {very basic} is simply follow {Restore} the orginal angle on the tool. That's basic as basic can get and close to the same method taught in sharpening schools.

The sharpening center you purchased should contain basic instructions to follow for the tools that machinery center is designed to sharpen. Read and study the instructions carefully.

About the only person who may or may not still have basic sharpening bookets and manuals for sale is David Hambe. The only phone number I have to contact him may or may not still be apply. Call {612} 757-5776.

Sharpening books are specialty items but should be available searching online or in a large retail chain store. Most likely they will have some type of listing but the books will have to be ordered.

Those we have in the shop are commerical bookets and apply to tools that require special machinery. The manchinery companies provide the books with the machinery.

Another possiblity would be to contact the sharpening schools advertised in magazines.

The only tips I could offer you is to work safetly, wear protective goggles, gloves and practice, practice and more practice.

Old 05-31-02, 04:46 AM
arthropod98
Visiting Guest
thanks, tom!!

i've been playing with it, and i think you're right . . . just need practice!

one other question though -- about how wet should the wet stone be while sharpening??

Old 05-31-02, 09:24 PM
Admin Emeritus
Upvotes: 0
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hello: arthropod98