Miter Saws

Old 06-16-02, 09:13 PM
Miter Saws

Any experience with the"cheaper" end miter saws eg. the Ryobi or Delta's. I'm just your average weekend warrior and would prefer not to spend several hundred for something that I won't use that often. I've seen a Ryobi & Delta both for around $100. Any thoughts?

I know Ryobi stuff is not considered "high end" but I recently bought a Ryobi combo 18v cordless drill, circular saw, etc & found they performed admirably for my basement "project" (framing several new walls,etc). So in this light - being that I'm not a professional who needs it day in & day out - any recommendations? Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-17-02, 03:11 AM
Hi bvgas,

By 'cheaper' I assume you mean smaller, less expensive.
Delta is generally a quality tool. Less expensive is usually a smaller motor and blade and possibly not a compund miter saw. If there is the possibility of compound cuts, you may want to go with a slightly better model. And of course the very high end saws (with slide) will cut larger stock. Don't rule out a Craftsman.

fred

PS = I've got the Ryobi combo also, and their drill press. So far so good!

Old 06-17-02, 04:26 AM
arthropod98
Visiting Guest
i've got a delta compound miter, and i LOVE that thing! sorry, can't remember what i paid for it, but i picked it up at lowe's, and it wasn't terribly expensive. the thing i really like is that it really LOCKS in your setting -- no wobbly whatsoever.

Old 06-18-02, 11:21 AM
GasGuzz
Visiting Guest
With a $100 budget, value is relative. A good blade alone will set you back a min $40.
Lower the CMS blade down to its cutting position. Push against the blade along its rotational axis with your finger. See that blade move in the Delta (ie: Delta is not known for CMSs. Although the Unisaw is considered among the best). The same result is on the 10 Ridgid CMS.
Other factors: Is the fence straight/square. Is the table/extensions flat. The miter scale design and operation. The Horiz D-handle.