Brinks Security System Local Operation

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-15-02, 05:32 PM
wkostik
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Brinks Security System Local Operation

We have a relatively new home that was constructed with a Brinks Security System installed but it has never been activated. I would like to use it as a local alarm system (not connected to a monitoring service) but I don't think that Brinks would be happy with that since they make their money on the monitoring. I would like to find some information (how to reset, default password, etc.) so that I could use it as a local alarm only. Any help would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-17-02, 04:19 AM
Sparksone42
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The first thing that you will need to do is to find the control panel and look for the phone connection that is usually right next to it. Unplug that phone connection and the unit will no longer dial the central station in the event of an alarm.
Next you will need to get the name of the manufacturer and the model number on the control panel, usually found on the inside of the front cover. Once you have that info then you can look and see if there's a website for the manufacturer. If their is you can try to look for the info on their site. Problem is that this seems to be proprietary information and as such it's not accessible on the internet. I too, have a Brinks system, I even called them one day to see if they would give me the info on how to reprogram the keypads. They will be more than happy to do so for the price of a service call with a technician. If you take there monitoring, of course, it's free!
Your best bet will be to get the info and then come back here and post it and ask your question. Mine still hasn't gotten answered but I suspect that's because it's so far down on the board.
Good Luck!!!
 
  #3  
Old 09-18-02, 06:28 PM
dgsearcy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Open the metal control box and give me the manufactor of the panel. It could be locked out from programing at the key pad . The only way to know is to try . First tell me who made the panel for brinks.
 
  #4  
Old 09-19-02, 03:51 AM
Sparksone42
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
dgsearcy,

Would you please scroll down and look at my post, I have a brinks panel as well and I am looking for info on how to reprogram the keypads and change the codes. Brinks is of no help whatsoever.

Thanks in advance.
 
  #5  
Old 09-19-02, 07:48 PM
dgsearcy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I will be glad to help if I can. But first tell me who manufactured the control. Brinks is a reseller not a manufacturer . If you don't see a name on the circuit board ,tell me what it looks like . Size and shape . all terminals on the bottom or some on the side. If you don't have a contract to monitor it , I assume you own it ,if its in your house and the contract is expired or you bought the house and the alarm was in it.
 
  #6  
Old 09-20-02, 04:12 AM
Sparksone42
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
dgsearcy,

Thanks for the response!

I don't know about wkostik but, yes the panel was in the house when I purchased it and it was part of the sale of the house. No, the system is not monitored, if it was then I could call Brinks and they would come out and show me what I need to know.

My unit is a DSS-670US, these are the only numbers I could find on the thing and I have looked all over the internet and anywhere else I could to get an owners manual for the unit to no avail. Any help that you can give me will be greatly appreciated.

I have all of the programming numbers that the previous owner used including the Master code. What I need to know is how to change the codes. I still have the same code for arming and disarming that the previous owner used.

Thanks again
 
  #7  
Old 09-20-02, 11:13 AM
dgsearcy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Those numbers aren't familiar. Where did you get them < owners manual or or the box , circuit board. I will check and see if I can get any information. Tell me what the keypad looks like . White or black plastic . LCD display or lights . email me at [email protected] if you like. I can access most manufators web sites to get you an owners manual. changing codes is in most owners manuals.
 
  #8  
Old 09-22-02, 12:35 PM
Zack A
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
It's probably an Ademco Vista 10 or a DSC 1550, I don't remember Brinks using, FBI, Gemini or Caddex and would never use Radionics.
 
  #9  
Old 09-22-02, 08:48 PM
dgsearcy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I located on brinks web site info that said the panel was mgf by Scantronics of Stockton CA. I don't see much of that brand (bought out acron famous digital dialers) An ademco panel doesn't have any numbering like dss670
 
  #10  
Old 09-23-02, 04:23 AM
Sparksone42
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
dgsearcy,

Yes, it is a Scantronics and the info that you have, is all that I have been able to get so far.

The keypad is white in color and it has light instead of a digital display. Has the three buttons at the top for Police, Fire, Burglary and then the number keys with the indicating lights to the left side of the keys.

I will look for numbers on the circuit board when I get home tonight and post with that info.

Again, thanks for any help you can provide.
 
  #11  
Old 09-23-02, 09:28 AM
dgsearcy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Did you get the email to use the master code and the number 2 .
4 zone lights will light up then enter your new code. try this , I found this on another site.
 
  #12  
Old 09-24-02, 09:37 AM
Sparksone42
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Yes, thanks I did get the email and I will try your suggestion. I will post back with the results.

Thanks again!!!
 
  #13  
Old 10-28-02, 07:25 PM
lukea
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Brinks panel

Brink's equipment is proprietery and the programming is locked out unless you have the Installer's code. There is no reset or back door.
They do not and have never used the Ademco Vista-10 or DSC panel.
You can however replace the control board with the DSC 1550 which fits nicely in the can, you will however have to replace the Keypads as well.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: