Doorbell

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-20-03, 08:05 AM
B
BGH
BGH is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 123
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Doorbell

I hope I am asking this in the right section, but I have recently had some problems with the doorbell to my home. The house was built in 1951, but am not sure how old this system is.

The problem: when someone used the doorbell last, it "stuck" so that there was a continuous buzzing sound. The button itself didn't stick, there was just a continuous noise. This noise was not the normal doorbell sound, and did not come from the chime set up near the front door. I traced this noise down to my basement, and was coming from a possible re-lay unit. I disconnected one of the wires to this unit, eliminating the noise but effectively terminating my doorbell.

Any ideas as to what caused this problem? Do I need a new system? Are they easy to install? Or do I simply need a new relay unit?

Thanks in advance for any and all answers.

BGH
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-20-03, 09:25 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It sounds like you may have an older door bell, I'm not real familiar with them. But you should be able to install a new one with no problems. I'm not sure if the older bells use a transformer or not, but new ones do. It's a 110V to 16V transformer that's usually installed at the chime, but you can install it in the basement (I'm thinking that may be what you disconnected in the basement.)

Grab a doorbell kit from Home Depot (or wherever) and it should have instructions on how to install it. It's pretty straight-forward. If you're not comfortable installing all this yourself, try a wireless doorbell. These come in 2 varieties - plug-in chime (no batteries) and a battery-operated chime. Of course, you'll probably want the plug-in, so that you don't have to change batteries. I think you can get a wireless now for about $20-30. Which is about the same as a regular chime. Of course, your push-button is going to have batteries either way.

Hope this helps. If you have some more questions, feel free to ask.

Good luck!
 
  #3  
Old 02-20-03, 10:16 AM
B
BGH
BGH is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 123
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the suggestion.

BGH
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: