Camera on Cat 3 wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-27-03, 07:32 PM
Bishop
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Camera on Cat 3 wire

I have a Cat 3 wire buried 350' to the entrance gates for the gate opener and intercom keypad. Can I run a camera at one end and a monitor at the other end on the spare twisted cat 3 wires. I think I have two sets of wires not used.
I have seen devices advertised that might work called Baulns, (spelling might be wrong)? I have 24V DC (two 12V batteries) at the gates+120V AC at the gate.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-28-03, 10:32 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are adapters just for the purpose of using Cat5/Cat3 wiring. But, I will have to d some looking to find them again. Most cameras only use 12VDC. I'll do some looking this weekend to find out more about those adapters, I have to remember where I saw them.
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-03, 05:38 PM
jobad72's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Missouri
Posts: 49
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try www.supercircuits.com Ive purchased many of the twisted pair converters from them.
 
  #4  
Old 04-25-03, 05:07 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
www.smarthome.com has them
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: