Check 05 on my ADT panel - fire alarm

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-31-03, 07:57 AM
Dr. G
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Check 05 on my ADT panel - fire alarm

Hi there -

Ever since I had my basement finished - and I know these guys unhooked the ADT fire alarm at some point because it kept going off from the dust- my ADT panel says Check 05 (which corresponds to that alarm)

3 random times over the past 6 months, the fire alarm has gone off and luckily we've been home to deal with it.

I have looked at the wiring but it doesn't have a guide on the back, so Ihave no idea if its correct.

Do i have to pay big bucks to have them out to look at it...or can someone here give me a couple of things to try before i do?

thanks - Rob
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-31-03, 11:39 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll be more than happy to help, but I have to know what kind of panel you have.

It sounds like you're just missing the EOL resistor.
 
  #3  
Old 04-01-03, 09:23 AM
Dr. G
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
wow

Hey - thank you - I will go home and find out what panel I have - I'll also find out what fire alarm it is.

Rob
 
  #4  
Old 04-01-03, 09:25 AM
Dr. G
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Panel model

Its an ADEMCO panel. You mean the type-in panel right?
 
  #5  
Old 04-01-03, 09:57 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Straight from the Vista 20P manual - typical ADT/Ademco panel:

CHECK
indicates that a problem exist with the displayed zone(s) and requires attention. Note: The control will sense a high resistance in the loops on hardwiredzones 2-8 and display "CHECK" and the affected zone number when the system is in the disarmed mode. It will not be possible to arm the system as long as this condition exists (unless this zone is bypassed). If the system is in the armed mode when the high resistance condition occurs, this display will no appear, but will do so as soon as the system is disarmed. Check the sensor of the loop wiring for the displayed zone.
In other words, it sounds like the wire has either been cut or the EOL resistor is missing (that's my guess.) The problem with that is that I think ADT changes those panels to use a different EOL than what Vista's usually use. So you'll have to check the other zones to see what size resistor they have. This resistor should be placed on the very last smoke detector in the line across the red and black terminals. This provides supervision for the line.

If that resistor is in place, you probably have a bad wire.

Good luck!
 
  #6  
Old 04-01-03, 11:58 AM
Dr. G
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thank you and more detail

Thank you for pulling that up and explaining it!

To be more detailed - there is only one fire alarm in the system so finding the offedning one shouldn't be a problem.

The only inconsistency is that I have no problem arming my system at night even with the CHeck 05 light on.

I will look at the back of the firealarm and see if a resist is missing. (what does that look like??? A wire??)

Sorry for cluelessness.
 
  #7  
Old 04-01-03, 12:21 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You know, now that I think about it, I think you may just need to reset the smoke. I don't remember exactly how those systems work (I've worked on quite a few, just now recently.) Try disarming the system a couple of times. If that doesn't do it, try power-cycling the system (unplug the transformer and battery then reconnect.)

It also wouldn't hurt to check the resistor though, while you're at it. It's not really a wire, although it does have wire legs coming out of it. It's those small tubular things that has the stripes on them. You'll know if it's there or not.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: