ADT Safewatch Secure RF- battery change and ? add-on sensors

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-29-03, 08:20 AM
moebb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
ADT Safewatch Secure RF- battery change and ? add-on sensors

I bought a ranch house with this system installed, but with no monitoring by ADT. Apparently, it was installed 10+ years ago.

I need to replace batteries on some of the wireless sensors (window) but don't want to break anything when removing the cover. Can anyone tell me if I can simply pry the cover off?

Also, there are a few windows where I'd like to add sensors. Can I do this myself or do I need to get an ADT contractor? And are they likely to do it if I don't have a monitoring contract?

I am not skilled with electrical things, fyi.

Thanks very much for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-02-03, 07:22 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you sure the type of system is a "SafeWach Secure RF" and not possibly a "SafeWatch Custom RF"? I'm looking at my cross-reference and I don't see a Secure RF - but it may be that it's a newer ADT system and it's not in my older references.

Double-check that, and in the meantime I'll see if I can find a Secure RF.
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-03, 11:53 AM
moebb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sorry! I'm now looking at the manual and it is Safewatch Plus RF.
Thanks for checking.
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-03, 05:57 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That system is <i>basically</i> the same as the ITI Commander 2000 - except that ADT has made a few changes to it. Most of these changes have to do with programming. In the installation manual where it says to press a button twice (like the Fire buttons) you press and hold it for 2 seconds instead. Also the account number is 3 digits instead of 4 or 5. Other than that it's pretty much the same.

Replacing batteries is easy enough, you may need Lithium 3V batteries though (kind of expensive, but fairly easy to find.) And adding sensors is pretty straight forward, if you have a manual. You shouldn't need a code (if I remember correctly), but if you do, use 6321.

Good luck! Let me know if you need some help.
 
  #5  
Old 07-11-03, 06:50 AM
moebb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you...I just ordered some 3.6v batteries (pried off one of the covers).

Some of the sensors are in "failure." The batteries have been shot for quite a while. So, when I replace them, do i put the unit in "test" mode first?

Also, the manual doesn't address adding sensors yourself (not a surprise). It's an end user manual, not one for an installer.

Thanks again for your help.
M
 
  #6  
Old 07-11-03, 07:01 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nah, you don't have to do anything special to the system when you replace the batteries - just make sure it's not armed

If you want to add sensors, you really need an installation manual for the system - like I say, it's basically an ITI Commander 2000 with a few changes (if I remember correctly adding sensors is the same as on the Commander 2000.) You can find manuals online pretty easily - try a Google search.

Good luck!
 
  #7  
Old 07-11-03, 08:25 AM
moebb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Awesome, thanks.
Just got the batteries delivered a few mins ago.
I also went to safewatch.com and downloaded the commander 2000 install...just might learn something useful!

Thanks again for your help.
M
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: