Simon Door Sensor failure

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-30-03, 06:43 PM
wisegrape
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Simon Door Sensor failure

I have a version one or two Simon, (not sure how to tell) with a now failing sensor. Does anyone know where I can get a replacement and how I can add/remove the new/old sensor from the unit. Appearently I'll also need the Utlility/Instillation code. My sensor has a 3.6V lithium battery which appears soldered into position. I first thought that the battery might be dead but I'm not sure.

I found a replacement sensor here for 45.00 however it looks quite different then the ones I have. Will this one work? Are there any better deals out there?

I plan on trying these codes to remove the sensor until I can get it fixed/replaced. Including in case they might help someone else.
0000
4321
6321
1234
5432

Any additional codes would be helpful.

* Edited - That URL has several parts *

* Edited - Updated URL to be more specific * -WiseGrape
 

Last edited by SafeWatch; 09-18-03 at 12:46 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-31-03, 08:32 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ITI has several old sensors that may or may not be replaceable by the newer sensors. The best thing to do is to either find out exactly what sensor you have (by opening the case and looking for the number, usually 60-????) or find out exactly what version system you have (power-down and power-up and the system will say "Hello, system ???? OK" - the number is your version number.) You should also be able to look inside the cover to see what version the system is.

Sorry for editing your post, but that URL is just a list of ITI parts, not a particular one.

Get back to me with some of those numbers and I'll find out what's compatible (or if your's may need to be repaired.)
 
  #3  
Old 08-31-03, 10:04 PM
wisegrape
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Simon v2.4
Sensor Model number 60-641

I was able to remove the failing sensor from the list of sensors using one of the utility codes I listed above. If/when I find a replacement sensor is it just as easy to add the new sensor to the unit? How do I add a new sensor?
 
  #4  
Old 09-01-03, 08:29 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ah, that's the Long-life Door/Window sensor - supposedly they have a 20-year battery life (but I <i>know</i> you haven't had that system that long.) They also have a 10-year battery warranty on them - you have to send them back to ITI for replacement.

I think if I were you, I would call ITI and see if they will help you out with it - they may tell you you have to go through your alarm company though.

If that doesn't work, you can just replace it with a <a href="http://safewatchservice.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/61_33_103/products_id/477">60-670-95R SAW sensor</a> (with Alkaline batteries) - or, if you want longer life Lithium batteries, the <a href="http://safewatchservice.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/61_33_103/products_id/460">60-362-10-319.5 Crystal sensor</a> is also available (with replaceable batteries.)

Hope that helps. Let me know if there is anything else I can help you with.

And, yes, either one of these sensors is just about as easy to add as it is to remove from the Simon system (the only difference is that you'll have to program a "sensor type" and press the button on the sensor or trip the tamper, in the case of the Crystal - very easy to do.)
 
  #5  
Old 09-09-03, 06:44 PM
wisegrape
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Well ADT was less then helpful. After about a week they finally got back with me. They wanted $75 to replace the part and then another $80 for the first 30 min plus an additional fee for every additional 15 min the tech. needed to install the sensor. I was very polite and tried to explain my position. I asked them to send me the part and I'll install it but they would not go along with that. I guess I'll try ITI next. Anyone have a good number to try? I haven't looked it up yet.

As far as installing the sensor goes can I go to my local Lowes Hardware and pickup a sensor there and install it? It looks like they have the 60-670-95R SAW sensor (with Alkaline batteries) from ITI but the system has the First Alert logo on the base unit.

When I get a new sensor will it come with instructions on how to add it to my system? I'm not sure what you mean when you say
you'll have to program a "sensor type" and press the button on the sensor or trip the tamper
Just out of curiosity, What are some of the causes for a sensor to fail? The door which this sensor is on is rarely opened (<10 times a year).
 
  #6  
Old 09-10-03, 08:13 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can find ITI at http://www.itii.com - but, they are not very keen on talking to homeowners. Explain your situation in a detailed e-mail (or phone call) and they <i>may</i> replace or repair the sensor for you.

If you do decide to purchase a new sensor - yes, they do typically come with instructions on installing (if you buy a new one, in the box.) It's really not difficult to do, but my point was that it's not exactly the same as deleting a sensor either. If you do decide to go that route and have problems, let me know, I'll give you step-by-step instructions on how to add the sensor back to programming.

Sensor Failure? Could be several things - moisture, may have been it too hard and jarred, may be defective from the factory, could be anything really (it <i>is</i> man-made afterall .)
 
  #7  
Old 09-23-03, 01:29 PM
wisegrape
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ok, I have received a replacement 60-670 sensor that I purchased from ebay. When I try to add the sensor I get to the point where it asks me to use the red numbered keys to enter sensor type. What do I need to enter at this point? I tried a few things but decided to stop before I mess something up. When do I push the button on the sensor? (There is a button inside the sensor that says to push for programming.) Any other help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #8  
Old 09-23-03, 06:40 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is where it depends on what type of sensor you want to program - Entry/Exit door, Perimeter door/window, motion, smoke, etc. Most common types:

10 - Entry/Exit Delay Doors
11 - Extended Entry/Exit Delay
13 - Perimeter (used on doors that are not entry doors and windows)
17 - Motions (Interior Follower)
26 - Fire Zones (smoke, heat, etc.)
 
  #9  
Old 09-23-03, 06:55 PM
wisegrape
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
What is the difference between 10 - Entry/Exit Delay Doors and 11 - Extended Entry/Exit Delay. After I select this type of sensor then what? I'm away from home at the moment and haven't tried entering any of the sensor types yet. I assume that at some point I'll have to press the button on the sensor to "activate" it. Thanks for all of your help.
 
  #10  
Old 09-23-03, 07:15 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The 11 (Extended Entry/Exit) is for doors that are farther away from the panel than the usual entry/exit doors - like a front door maybe.

I believe once you program the sensor type, you have to press the button on the sensor. Been a while since I programmed a Simon 2.

Good luck!
 
  #11  
Old 09-24-03, 08:33 PM
wisegrape
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm back in business. Thanks for your help. I found this doc for anyone that might need additional assistance.


Install Manual
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: