Security Dimensions SD-300

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-15-04, 10:55 AM
timixone
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Security Dimensions SD-300

I just bought this house that has an SD-300 security system installed with a 7015 LED keypad (SK-512). I am trying to gain access to the system so that I can enable the CO, gas and smoke detectors attached to the system but I dont have access codes. Is there a way I can get a manual so that I can reprogram the system ? The monitoring company would not help unless I subscribe to their service and I can't find Security Dimensions website or their phone number.
Thanks for your help.
 

Last edited by timixone; 01-15-04 at 11:08 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-15-04, 04:19 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,646
Received 89 Votes on 83 Posts
This is a system made by FBII, one of the Ademco family. Not one I know well, but according to ademco's site, that keypad's not generally sold in the US.

I'm not sure which of the base system it is actually an analog to.
 

Last edited by MrRonFL; 01-15-04 at 04:33 PM.
  #3  
Old 01-15-04, 06:19 PM
timixone
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Well yes that's what I found in the few catalogs I found. but I've got 2 of those keypads in my house, go figure. During one of my searches, I found the FBII site and from their catalog, it looks like the base or control closest to what I have in terms of the look and datasheet info is the "XL31 control panel". While waiting for a feedback from the forum, I've been busy tinkering around, I found a way to factory reset to default (shorting TP1 and TP2 while powering on.) though I lost all the features that the keypad manual claimed it had, and the "com" LED light blinking (can't contact control center) it works. But I need to be able to reprogram the system which ever way I want or better still find a downloader that I can use.
Thanks for your assistance.
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-04, 03:45 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,646
Received 89 Votes on 83 Posts
Ooh! you might have jumped the gun a bit. There is likely a means to jump into program mode without wiping the system. Most of the ademco family have some such back door.

Well, what's done is done. You will need the manual for the XL-31 panel. Safewatch may have that one in his collection, FBII are uncommon in my area.
 
  #5  
Old 01-16-04, 05:24 PM
timixone
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I checked at Safewatch and they don't have the XL31 manuals. The previous owner left the keypad manual though. Getting in to the programming mode is the only problem I have now. I don't know what the problem is but suspect its between the installer code and the wrong code sequence. Whatever help you can render will be appreciated.
Thanks a million.
sincerely.
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-04, 07:00 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try it again, I just uploaded it for you.

You may have tried to default a locked-out panel - the installer code doesn't default, if that's the case.

Good luck!
 
  #7  
Old 01-16-04, 08:50 PM
timixone
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks. I guess that's the situation, looks like the installer code is locked. If I understand correctly, its possible to access the system via ez-mate or compass downloader ? What about a comm app like the hyperterminal? Will it be too much to ask for the downloader?
 
  #8  
Old 01-17-04, 09:10 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It won't do you any good - if I remember correctly, you have to have the installer code to access the panel with the Downloader. Also, it's possible the download code was changed too.

Besides that, the Downloader doesn't work with just any modem. And, no, you can't use Hyperterminal either.

Your best bet is to spend about $200 on a panel and keypad and just replace it.

Good luck!
 
  #9  
Old 01-19-04, 06:35 PM
timixone
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Yep, I believe I don't have any other choice.
Thanks for all your help.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: