Start using an existing security system

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 03-21-04, 01:28 PM
sushrut
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Start using an existing security system

My friend bought a house which has an existing Safewatch Pro 2000 with a Ademco 5881, wireless window and door contacts and the control panel all installed. There is no contract with ADT that came over to him with the house. The unit is disconnected. When we checked the unit there is a red & a black wire hanging from the control panel. Can we reconnect the unit and use it as a stand alone security sytem which sounds the alarm on break in/fire/etc.?

Cheers
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-21-04, 01:41 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Certainly. It should be fairly simple to reprogram - even without any codes. But, ADT typically uses 6321 as the installer code - that should make it even easier.

Grab a manual over at http://manuals.safewatchservice.com - it will walk you through reprogramming codes, etc.

Good luck!
 
  #3  
Old 03-22-04, 04:47 PM
sushrut
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy You are the man !!!

Ok I found the original wire ... hooked it on that transformer and voila the whole thing works. Since I have never had a security system before two questions:

1) Until I arm the system using my code and one of the modes (Away, Stay, Instant, Maximum), the damn thing will never ring right? My mother in law is also here and if this thing goes off in the night, I will be sleeping in the garage attic ... already she is confused with the X-10 switching lights on and off based on motion and time
So in short as long as the unit says Ready and the Ready green light is on and the Armed red light is off, the unit will never sound the alarm or call someone.

2) I tried and tried but how do I configure this thing for the Primary phone and secondary phone number and how do I test it without sounding the irritating alarm ....

3) Lastly is there a quick code to switch the alarm off when I am doing my work on this and testing this thing ?

4) Lastly, I saw some one touch key chains on your web site for GE/ITI. Can I buy one of those and use them to switch the system on and off as I drive out or in to my garage?


Thanks Brendan,

Sushrut
 

Last edited by sushrut; 03-22-04 at 05:07 PM.
  #4  
Old 03-22-04, 10:20 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1) Correct - you have to Arm the system before the siren will go off. Now, the chime (beep beep) is different, you have to turn it off using CODE-9.

2) Just disconnect a leg of the siren temporarily - that's the easiest thing to do. From memory (double-check this) it's terminal 3. Primary number is *41 and Secondary is *43 - they are not for use with cell phones, but you can use a pager format (there's a little more programming for pagers.)

3) Not really - just use the Master to disarm, then disconnect the siren if you don't want it to annoy you.

4) No - the ITI version will not work, but I do have the 5804 (4-button keychain) for the Ademco wireless. From memory, about $50?? Total guess. You can also use it to control the X-10's. There is also a Secure Wireless brand that is compatible with the Ademco wireless.

Let me know if I can be of more help.
 
  #5  
Old 03-27-04, 10:49 AM
sushrut
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Phone module problem

The security system works like a charm but the phone module is not working. I programmed it as mentioned in the document ... but when I dial (3 rings first ->hangup->dial again since I have an answering machine), I get a fax type tone instead of the voice prompt as mentioned in the manual. What do I do?

cheers
 
  #6  
Old 03-27-04, 01:07 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Which phone module is installed on the system? I know which one is <i>supposed</i> to be used with the system, which is why I ask, I want to make sure you have the right one

Let me know and I'll check to see which settings are supposed to be set.
 
Closed Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: