Best alarm that will monitor my detached garage and single family home

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-31-04, 12:10 PM
gixxer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Best alarm that will monitor my detached garage and single family home

I would like to install an alarm that will monitor my detached garage which is like 30 feet from the back of the house and also monitor the house at the same time. Is it possible to be able to have an alarm system that can be shut off from the garage via keypad or remote when I drive into the garage ? The system would also have to allow me to have keypads at the both the backdoor and front door of the house..... Is this possible or do I need to buy two alarms? I would also like to have it monitored kinda like brinks watches over there systems ...


One last question by having wireless lan at home will this affect any wireless components if I got a hardwire/wireless system and if not which systems do you recommend....any help would be great


Gixxer
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-01-04, 06:07 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not to avoid your question, but if you take a look at this recent thread - http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?t=178502 - someone else had a very similar situation. They wanted to protect a garage and house with one or different systems. I recommended the ITI Concord Express with 16-zone wireless built-in. This way you could install the Concord in your house, and add wireless sensors to the garage - not to mention add the keychain remotes for arming/disarming.

Let us know if you have any questions.
 
  #3  
Old 09-01-04, 07:59 AM
gixxer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Is it possible to have 3 hardwire keypads one of course in the garage?

Which monitoring service do you all recommend as I will be buying the concord express in a bit.... I'm located in ILL ...


thanks

gixxer
 
  #4  
Old 09-01-04, 08:23 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Certainly, I forget exactly how many keypads the Concord Express supports, but it's either 4 or 8. Of course, that means you'll have to run a wire from the panel to the keypad. If you can get the wire out there, then you may want to consider using hardwire sensors in the garage - they are much cheaper.

Consider this:
Run a Cat5 or 2 to the garage from the control panel, this will give you 8 or 16 conductors to work with respectively.
Connect the keypad to 4 of those wires.
Connect the doors to 2 of those wires.
Connect a motion to 4 of those wires.
You still have 6 left - run a phone, network, you name it.

If you can get the wire out there, then there's no reason to use wireless. If not, then you may want to consider a wireless keypad, like the Hi-Tech Handheld Touchpad (<a href="http://www.safewatchservice.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/61_33_109/products_id/528">take a look here</a>.)

Again, let us know if you have other questions.
 
  #5  
Old 09-01-04, 10:16 AM
gixxer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool brandon thanks for the info... just have two more questions

1. what would be a good monitoring service for fire and police that I can use with the concord express?

2. What places would you recommend to purchase the concord express?

I guess it would be better to use the wireless in the house and hardwire the garage so I won't have to patch so many holes in the walls

again many thanks...
 
  #6  
Old 09-01-04, 04:04 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We use <a href="http://www.copsmonitoring.com">COPS Monitoring</a> out of New Jersey - I believe they are one of the best in the business.

As for purchasing, I recommend going with an <a href="http://www.safewatchservice.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/21_30_54/products_id/50">80-518 Concord Express kit</a> which comes with the panel and a programming keypad (required for programming the system), then just add the parts you need.
 
  #7  
Old 09-02-04, 10:38 AM
gixxer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
cool thanks .... I will need at least 2 more keypads which do you recommend for the concord express
 
  #8  
Old 09-03-04, 08:14 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can go with the Alphanumeric keypads for extra keypads, but I recommend just using the simple <a href="http://www.safewatchservice.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/23/products_id/208">60-820 Fixed Display Keypads</a> - they are about $40 cheaper for one thing.
 
  #9  
Old 10-11-04, 08:02 AM
gixxer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
question about setup for concord express

Brandon

1) is it possible to have the garage armed and yet have the house disarmed and the reverse if needed?


2) If this is possible how should I setup the touchpad that you recommended for the garage?

3) If I put a siren on the garage do I just tie the wires right to the same connections in the panel were the interior siren for the house connects ?

Thanks


gixxer
 
  #10  
Old 10-11-04, 08:55 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1) Not with the Concord Express
What you are talking about is called partitioning - your panel has to support multiple partitions (which are essetially different security systems controlled by the same panel.) The Concord Express only supports 1 partition. The Concord Hybrid/RF Integrated supports 2 partitions.

2) See above

3) Yes, you can just put the siren on the same outputs. However, you do have to be careful of current draw. Look at the sirens' current draw and add them up, they should not be more than 750mA (from memory - it may be 1.25A for the siren output) total. Check the installer manual for the exact numbers.

Good luck!
 
  #11  
Old 10-11-04, 09:51 AM
gixxer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Brandon


1) Is it possible to tie all the garage sensors to a zone and have that zone armed and turn off zones in the house while we are home ?


2) so with the concord hybrid I would have to buy the hybrid for the house and then have the concord express at the garage will that work ?

I really would like to have one alarm system as it will be cheaper ... but would like to find a way to be able to somehow have have the garage on a zone or two and be able to turn those on and off not sure if the express can do this


again thanks for the fast replies

gixxer
 
  #12  
Old 10-11-04, 06:23 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1) Yes, but what you would be doing is bypassing the house zones - so the alarm would be armed, but the house would be bypassed (disarmed completely)

2) No, with the Concord Hybrid system, you have 2 partitions built-in to the system. So, you would only need the one system. With this setup, you could also arm and disarm each zone separately and from any keypad connected to the system.

It would be much easier to have a partitioned system rather than bypassing zones. Bypassing would require you to bypass each zone separately (so, if you had 5 zones on the house, and 1 zone on the garage, then you would have to bypass 5 zones each time you arm just the garage.)

Let me know what you think.
 
  #13  
Old 10-11-04, 08:34 PM
gixxer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Brandon,

You make a good point about the bypass thing. Will it cost more to meter a partition system? Also can I with a partition system kill just the garage alarm with a keyfob before opening the over head door and still have the house alarm active? How will the system know that the fob is just for one partition and not the other.... Sorry for all the questions but i'm a newbie and trying to get as much info before diving into the build out of this system...

and thanks for all the reply's.... hope marriage life is doing good...


gixxer
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: