How to Wire Window Contacts?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-13-04, 09:11 PM
pspenn
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
How to Wire Window Contacts?

Good Day All,
I am pre-wiring a house and have not installed alarm contacts until now. Can someone point me in the direction of some good instructions on connecting the contacts?

Here is what I have done thus far.
I have layed out 6 zones over 38 locations.

I plan on looping all windows in each room to their respective zones. To do this, I run 22/2 wire to the first location in the zone and splice in one contact to 1 of the two wires. I repeat this step throughout the loop keeping the wire consistant until the last contact, at which time I connect the second wire thus completing the loop.

If this is the correct way, will someone please confirm?
I appreciate the assistance.

Thanks,
Perry
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-14-04, 06:44 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,645
Received 89 Votes on 83 Posts
It's not the _best_ way, but it will work.
The drawback of doing this daisy chain method is that if you have a wire damage problem, the whole loop is screwed. If you still have the chance, it's much better, if more labor and wire, to home run each opening back to the panel location. It's much easier to troubleshoot, and more flexible in configuration.
 
  #3  
Old 09-15-04, 02:59 PM
pspenn
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Good Advise

Thanks for that advise. Unfortunately I have looped the zones on this particular house. However, I have 7 more homes coming up and will certainly use your suggestion. It makes total sense....

Thanks again,
Perry
 
  #4  
Old 09-15-04, 03:51 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Abo****ely the best way is what MrRon has stated...run all windows and doors back to the panel location individually and series your wires to the zones at the panel. Makes for easier troubleshooting and if you have to remove a window from the loop its only 1 not all.
The only other differance that occurs from time to time is that if you have 2 windows side by side sometimes you will have 1 wire for these 2 windows. It really depends on the site and if the customer is trying to go for maximum expansion every opening on its own zone.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: