Moose Z1100R "memory error (32)"


  #1  
Old 10-05-04, 05:24 PM
MiataJD
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Moose Z1100R "memory error (32)"

We have a Moose Z1100R alarm system, which was installed in 1993. After Hurricane Frances knocked out power for awhile, the battery apparently died. After the power came back on (and after I replaced the battery with a new one), the system came back on. All of the lights on the keypads came on normally, except for one. The green light next to zone 6 flashes. Actually, it rapidly blinks (flickers) four times, stays on for a second or two, and repeats. The keypad says that that blinking light indicates "memory error (32)". The keypad does not respond when I try to reset (key #9), or when I try to arm the alarm. Every once in awhile, for unknown reasons, the keypads will beep loudly, which can be stopped by pressing key #9. My owner's manual does not address the problem at all. Any help would be appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 10-05-04, 05:58 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,564
Received 306 Upvotes on 281 Posts
I've seen this a few times with these systems. The slow fade of the battery sometimes scrambles the memory map. one thing you can try is to power the panel down by truning off the switch on the lower left of the board. Halfway up the side of the board there is a small program switch (it looks like a bent safety pin). Hook it closed, then turn the switch back on. The panel will power up in program mode. Press the * key. This will revert it to run mode. If the light goes back to normal, you are in business. Turn it back off, unhook the little switch, and turn it back on.

If the memory error remains, your only choice it to go through the program line by line reading values and correcting as needed. You _must_ have the install manual for this. People that work on these things on a regular basis have trouble with these puppies, so prepare for a little frustration.
 
  #3  
Old 10-06-04, 06:38 PM
MiataJD
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
So far, so good. I'm back to normal mode, and all lights are steady. The memory error light is no longer flashing. But we now have two problems.

1) Some zones do not seem to be responding. In other words, for some (but not all) zones, if we open the door or window, the "ready to arm" light remains lit, and no lights are on when I press "zone status."

2) Even though the "ready to arm" light is on, we cannot arm the alarm using our old number code (Personal Authorization Code). I would try to change the code, but I don't have the "Master Programing Code" to do this. (There are a couple of five number combos on my paperwork from 1993, but I'm loathe to try them until the first problem is solved.)

Thanks for you help.
 
  #4  
Old 10-08-04, 01:32 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,564
Received 306 Upvotes on 281 Posts
There is some programming that needs to be repaired. It's not especially difficult, but does take a little patience. Basically, some of the zone definitions and your user code in the program have been overwritten by a null number. It's a glitch that sometimes happens when one of these systems dies under battery power.

First of all, you absolutely will need a copy of the installation manual. If you don't have one, it can be had from people like Safewatch. Once you have that available, let me know, and I can feed you the keystrokes that will restore your system (assuming no hardware damage).
 
  #5  
Old 10-10-04, 11:25 AM
MiataJD
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
OK, I have the installation manual. What's the next step?

Thanks again for your help.
 
  #6  
Old 10-10-04, 04:36 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,564
Received 306 Upvotes on 281 Posts
First, you need to determine what each zone on your system is. Interior zones (motion detectors and the like) will have a different programming identity than perimeter, entry/exit, and fire zones.

First you will need to follow the process you used before with the program switch. When it powers up in program mode enter the following keystrokes:

5 + 9 + [98675]

This will restore the factory program code.

Then follow the steps in section 3.2.6.2 to reprogram your access code.

Finally, you will need to enter the adress programming using the keystrokes on page 12 (section 3.3):

This is the tricky part:

Starting at address 22: any entry zone should have a value of 64; any perimeter (non delay) zone should have a value of 65; Fire zones will be a 66, and interior zones will be an 81.

You will likely find that the zones that are non responsive will have a value of 255 (all lights lit).

For the rest of the program simply verify that the adresses are at the factory default values.

Read over the sections on programming carefully before you start. Know that any delay in keystrokes of more than a second or so in any set will probably kick you back out.

You will have to keep re entering address programming as some entrys will kick you back to run mode. Check your entrys. When you think you are done, turn the power switch off, open the program switch, and test it out.
 
  #7  
Old 10-10-04, 06:11 PM
MiataJD
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
OK, I think I got the wrong installation book. For some reason, I thought I had a Moose Z-1100e system, and I ordered that book. I doesn't match up with your last post; the first zone is at address 051, not 22, and the programming instructions are not on page 12. The keypads on my system have "Moose Z1100R" on them, but everything else is labelled Moose Z-1100, as is the paperwork I got from the installer back in 1993. The programming switch is a small wire loop switch, not a push button. What do you think?
 
  #8  
Old 10-11-04, 02:33 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,564
Received 306 Upvotes on 281 Posts
That is the wrong book. There were 3 (count them) 3 versions of the z1100.

The System I, the System II, and the 1100e. They each use a slightly different program map and procedure, and there are small hardware differences. They all used the 1100R keypad, however.

You need the System I book, it and the 1100e are _very_ different.
 
  #9  
Old 10-13-04, 01:54 PM
MiataJD
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
OK, it's fixed! Thanks!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: