Vista-20P 2 partition disarm with macros puzzle


  #1  
Old 10-07-04, 08:37 PM
psvail
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Vista-20P 2 partition disarm with macros puzzle

Hi, I haven't seen a lot of dual partition questions here...

I've got a 2 partition setup with a keyboard in each partition. I've set up one of the user codes to be in both partitions, and want to be able to arm/disarm both parts from the partition #1 keyboard, without having to use the goto. Is there a way I can setup a macro to do the disarm of both parts for me? I realize that I can use the multi-part arming to arm both partitions.

This is for a church that rents out the basement (partition #2) so I'm trying to make it as idiot-proof and simple as possible for members to open/close the whole building with as few keystrokes as possible.

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 10-09-04, 08:08 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,513
Received 285 Upvotes on 262 Posts
From the Vista 20P user manual:

Some users can be given Multi-Partition arming ability by being assigned to both partitions when programming user attributes.
When attempting to arm multi-partitions:
• You must use an Alpha keypad.
• The system arms only if all partitions are “ready to arm.”
• If any partition is “not ready,” the system does not arm at all.
• You can use the GOTO command to bypass open zones before arming.
• If any partition is already armed when global arming is attempted, that
partition remains in its existing armed state.
[security code] + [0] + [arm command (see list below)]

Multi-Partition Arming Commands
2 = arms all partitions AWAY
3 = arms all partitions STAY
33 = arms all partitions NIGHT-STAY
4 = arms all partitions MAXIMUM
7 = arms all partitions INSTANT
1 = disarms all partitions
 
  #3  
Old 10-09-04, 09:48 AM
psvail
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ya know, I read and re-read that section of the manual countless times, and simply didn't see that the disarm was an option. I guess all I saw was the various arming options and wasn't as much interested in them. Now that you've made it painfully obvious, I see it!! (What's the smiley for Homer's "Doh"?)

Thanks very much for being here, and I'm sure I'll be back (hopefully after REALLY reading the manual)!
 
  #4  
Old 10-10-04, 10:27 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,513
Received 285 Upvotes on 262 Posts
It's not too surprising. Ademco manuals are notoriously "odd" in layout. Very often, you will find the start of an inportant piece of information buried in the middle of a dense clump of text with a graphic taking up most of the page and the conclusion of the instructions on the back of the next page.
 
  #5  
Old 10-11-04, 08:35 AM
psvail
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks! Works like a champ.

Now, since I've got your ear, is there an easy way to display all the memory locations? I'm not sure what settings/users the installer put in, and I cant find an easy way to start at an address, display the contents, and skip (without modifying) to the next address.....
 
  #6  
Old 10-11-04, 03:53 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,513
Received 285 Upvotes on 262 Posts
No. With Ademco units, you have to display the contents of each address one at a time using the #[location] command instead of *. The only way to do it otherwise is with the Compass software, and for configuring a single system, it's like using NASA to launch a paper airplane.
 
  #7  
Old 10-13-04, 04:40 PM
psvail
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Harrumph. Makes me appreciate the Mooze Z11 I worked with once...
I suppose getting a copy of the Compass SW free is out of the question??

Oh, Well. Again, thanks lots for being here!
 
  #8  
Old 10-13-04, 04:51 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,513
Received 285 Upvotes on 262 Posts
Heck, I don't have the Compass software (and don't _want_ it). It's really more hassle than it's worth unless you set up dozens of these things a year.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: