Vista 20P: No Alarm with Motion Detector

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-19-05, 12:03 PM
M
MAS
MAS is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vista 20P: No Alarm with Motion Detector

Anyone, Please Help!

Firstly, Thank you to those who have responded to my earlier questions!

OK, I'm still new to alarm installation, but things are getting closer.

I've finally gotten everything to work...except one thing: my motion detectors Do Not sound the alarm when tripped.

During "Test Mode," all of my 4 of my zones respond (entry & 3 motions) and are reported to my 6160 keypad.

The magnetic entry when tripped sounds the alarm after the 30 delay without code entry. But when the system is armed, the LEDs on all of the motion detectors blink...but no alarm sounds during armed tests.

What I want is an immediate alarm to sound when the motions are tripped.

Also after adding an extra keypad upstairs, I would like to program to motion detector upstairs not to trip the alarm during the night whent he rest of the system is armed.

Any help is Greatly appreciated!

Thank you,
MAS
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-19-05, 06:20 PM
K
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: canada
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
stay mode will disable your motions at night ,if your motions down staird would be active at night than have yhem defined as 20 not 4.are you testing the system by pressing stay or what.
 
  #3  
Old 03-19-05, 07:21 PM
M
MAS
MAS is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
RE: Vista 20P: No Alarm with Motion Detector

I'm doing "live" tests in away mode...but staying indoors after arming then walking around until the sensors blink red. The sensors blink but the alarm does not sound. During "test" mode, the controller/keypad sense motion on all three of my motion detectors.

I've programmed the zone type as "interior follower" (*04) which was my best guess.

Do I need to do any programming in *79/*80?? I have not done any...but I thought I would go there next....It's really confusing!

Thanks again for the help,

MAS
 
  #4  
Old 03-19-05, 09:32 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Go to field 84 (Auto Stay) and make sure a zero is entered in that field. Otherwise the motions won't arm in Away mode unless you open a door after arming.
 
  #5  
Old 03-20-05, 10:36 AM
K
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: canada
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Go to field 84 (Auto Stay) and make sure a zero is entered in that field. Otherwise the motions won't arm in Away mode unless you open a door after arming.
this is true.
the way they designed the ademco to reduce false alarm is when you arm in away if you did not open any door the system will turn itself in stay mode ,and this a good feature.so just open the door and close and it has to be an entry delay door.
04 is used for using the motion to be armed in away mode ,if you want them to be armed in stay make them 20 or even 10 which is motion with delay like doors with delay.
 
  #6  
Old 03-21-05, 11:07 AM
ken_o
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
What type of motion detectors are you using? If they are 5890's, the red LED will only light when the jumper in the PIR is in the TEST mode. After testing, you need to change this jumper to the NORMAL mode for it to talk to the control panel.
 
  #7  
Old 03-21-05, 05:23 PM
M
MAS
MAS is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Still having problems...!

I've set all three of my motions to 20 in *56...just trying to get something. I've tried arming in stay & away...each time opening/closing the entry door. I did get the upstairs motion to sound the alarm...but not downstairs would not trip the system. I've tried so many combinations now, I do not remember which got the upstairs to trip the system.

When I enter a zero in *84, the keypad beeps. Is there a way that I can confirm that a zero is saved via another field?? What is the default value for field 84?

My motions are ademco/aurora & have left the jumper in the standard position.

Thank you again to anyone responding to my frustration,

MAS
 
  #8  
Old 03-21-05, 05:27 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,642
Received 89 Votes on 83 Posts
If you enter # instead of * before the field number, the panel reads back the content of the register.
 
  #9  
Old 03-25-05, 07:24 AM
mikesinaz
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Easy to fix

The 20p has a cool feature in it, if you set the alarm to "away" but never open an "entry/exit" door the panal will revert to "stay" mode.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: