Commander 2000 Sensor Problem


  #1  
Old 05-16-05, 11:42 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Commander 2000 Sensor Problem

I have an ITI Commander 2000 alarm system. The control panel kept announcing low battery on window sensor 3. I replaced the battery and now the panel announces sensor 3 failure. I have double checked that the cover is secure but the sensor is still failing. Every 12 hours the panel wakes us up in the middle of the night.
How can the #3 sensor be deleted until I get a replacement? Also, where can I buy a replacement sensor? Thank you.
 
  #2  
Old 05-16-05, 03:20 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,946
Received 126 Votes on 117 Posts
Check the battery again with a meter to make sure that it's good. Those little 3volt lithium batteries are notorious for being bad out of the package (stores tend not to rotate the stock on them like they should because they are a slow moving item).

These are the same wireless transmitters used on current ITI and Caddx/Networx systems, so if it really is dead, you really can find a replacement pretty easily. On the flip side, you can also learn those same transmitters into a modern panel should you ever decide to upgrade.
 
  #3  
Old 05-16-05, 05:33 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Naples.Fl
Posts: 154
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try doing a sensor test your code then 9 open and close the window ? door 2 times if the battery is good when you put your code and off it should be clear the only draw back to this is if your main batteries are weak that low battery will replace the low sensor battery word to the wise if one battery goes dead on this system they are all going to go low periodically also don't buy them from the shack they are to expensive you can get them at alot of places if you look they may not have the same part num. but carry the old one for comparison and make sure they are 3.6 volts
 
  #4  
Old 05-17-05, 08:36 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tested the battery and it pegs my meter. It is good. I took the cover off the sensor and it appears that the tamper switch is not closing when the cover is put back on. The spring seems to stick as I try to push the switch down with my finger.
 
  #5  
Old 05-17-05, 08:11 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,946
Received 126 Votes on 117 Posts
That would do it. An uncommon failure point, but not unheard of. You can try popping the battery and giving it a shot of electronic contact cleaner spray while moving the switch. Once it's dry again power it back up. The odds are, though, that the transmitter is on less than borrowed time by the best tweaks.
 
  #6  
Old 05-18-05, 07:12 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have decided to replace the sensor. The system has been in place at least 12 years so I think I got the money's worth out of the sensor. I was able to get an installation manual and delete sensor 03 until I get a replacement. At least now uninterupted sleep.

Will Crystal Door/Window sensor pn: 60-362-10-319.5 work with the commander 2000? From the picture and schematics it looks to be the same sensor that I have. I just want to verify before purchasing it.
 
  #7  
Old 05-18-05, 07:59 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,946
Received 126 Votes on 117 Posts
As best I can tell, it is. I've swapped the wireless transmitters from Caretaker and Commander panels to new generation recievers before, so I don't think that they have changed their underlying tech (if it ain't broke....)
 
  #8  
Old 05-19-05, 07:03 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have ordered the sensor. The part numbers match with the ones in the installation manual. One more question. When adding the new sensor to the system. Once you are in Learn mode, does the new sensor need to be mounted at the window location or do you add it to the system before mounting the sensor to the window location? Thank you for everyone's help.
 
  #9  
Old 05-19-05, 03:57 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Naples.Fl
Posts: 154
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The sensor you ordered will work. Also have the sensor in its normal state Ie. the magnet there when you learn it. this is one of the most user friendly panels out there so don't read to much into the manual. they sell the new version "simon" at home depot. Having the magnet or not is how you tell the sensor to be normally open or nc closed saves a programming address in the limited memory
 
  #10  
Old 05-19-05, 05:36 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,946
Received 126 Votes on 117 Posts
I usually program in wireless devices in my hand at the keypad, then go mount them.
 
  #11  
Old 06-28-05, 06:42 PM
scratchman2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Commander 2000 sensor problem

Hello there knowledgeable ones. I, too am having this problem. Have resorted to disabling the entire system for the last several months, however your words bring me hope. I have located the sensor on-line and will look to purchase it tomorrow, however, I do not know how to: #1 program the new sensor into the system or; #2 remove the bad sensor from the system (aside from bypassing it when alarm is enabled). Can you help, please?
 
  #12  
Old 07-12-05, 07:05 AM
pamulla
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Commander 2000 problems

I have a Commander 2000 alarm which worked fine until we replaced our windows and front door. I lost one of the magnets that mated with the window sensors.
-Can I buy a new sensor since I read that GE has discont'd this system?
-What/where can I get it?
-Marko: where did you get the installation manual for this system? I might like to add a few more windows if I new how to program it. Would I have to inform the monitoring station of the changes? Can I add additional smoke alarms on my own?

Also: Has anyone installed these sensors using double-sided tape rather than screws? I am unwilling to screw into the new windows. Thanks in advance.
 
  #13  
Old 07-12-05, 10:29 AM
pamulla
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Home Depot

Just got back from HD: they haven/t sold home alarm systems for over a year here in the NorthEast. There is a web site with products if you search for home security stores on the Internet. Google is great
 
  #14  
Old 07-12-05, 06:07 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,946
Received 126 Votes on 117 Posts
If all you lost are the magnets, and not the transmitter, you can get just a magnet. I think Radio Shack sells security contacts, still, and the magnet half of the set will work just fine.

2 sided tape will work just dandy. Magnets aren't very heavy, and the contacts themselves aren't that large. Get the good 3-M, indoor/outdoor stuff. The fluffy foam type tapes go brittle from the temperatures that window frames transmit.

A number of online vendors have the manual for these systems. Just websearch using the phrase "Installer Manual ITI Commander 2000". You may have to page down a bit. The first page hits tend to be hinky.
 
  #15  
Old 07-18-05, 08:47 AM
pamulla
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
commander 2000

Thanks Ron
I found the magnets at RS and it worked fine.
I used the fluffy type of tape so I will look for the more durable double sided indoor/outdoor tape.
I ordered the manual for a nominal fee.

Next question:
what hardware on the market is compatible with the ITI Commander 2000? I have seen some at Circuit City and Best Buy that looks similar to what I have. I am thinking specifically of adding windows and another smoke alarm.
Will my monitoring company object to the addition? I use a national company who ititials start at the beginning of the alphabet.
 
  #16  
Old 07-18-05, 03:19 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,946
Received 126 Votes on 117 Posts
Pretty much most of the ITI wireless devices should work with the Commander panel. ITI has stuck with their wireless design, and it's one of the best around.

Some of the oddball stuff might not work, but most of the standard stuff (smokes, motions, glassbreak, standard contacts) should.
 
  #17  
Old 08-11-05, 08:54 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Commander 2000 Sensor Problem

Hi Everyone,
Sorry to take so long to post again. I have been on an extended buisness trip out of the country. For those that were wondering I bought replacement Crystal Door/Window sensors from www.alarmmall.com I was also able to download the user and installation mannual from them. The cost of the manual is $5.00 to download. Well worth it. The manuals can be found under the GE/ITI section.

I have installed one new sensor and works fine with my system. I used 3M mounting tape to secure the sensor to the window. Can be bought at the hardware store.

But, I do have a new question. Since my system is approximately 13 years old the sensors are starting to fail and more will need to be replaced. These are on the basement doors & windows and I know that hummidity moisture plays a part in the failure. Also from the sunlight heat the covers have become brittle and I have broken 2 catches on the sensors when trying to open them for service. The covers won't stay on after I have broken the catch.My question: Is there a trick or a special tool I can use to pop open the sensor cover without damaging the sensors? I had trouble trying to open one of the new ones to trip it when programing it. Even if there is a certain size screw driver you pros use, please advise so I don't damage anymore covers.
 
  #18  
Old 08-11-05, 03:48 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,946
Received 126 Votes on 117 Posts
Normally I just gently squeeze the cover in the long dimension (your finger tips on the short ends). The end that should come loose first is the one at the end opposite the reed switches. It sounds like you may be trying to open the wrong end first.

The plastic does get brittle, especially with UV exposure. I've had one in a well sunlit foyer pretty much crumble in my hands.

13 years is pretty good. Not many pieces of consumer electronics can claim reliable service past 10 years.
 
  #19  
Old 08-12-05, 01:52 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks MrRonFL. I will try to be more careful and open the other end first. I have another sensor to replace. 13 years and just now the sensors are going bad. I feel I got the my money's worth out of the first batch.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: