Glass Breakage Sensor


  #1  
Old 06-13-05, 06:52 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Glass Breakage Sensor

I have a Radio Shack Plug'N Power home alarm systme and I want to ad a glass breakage sensor to it. The wireless window transmitters have contacts to plug in additinoal sensors with 2 contacts. The glass breakage sensors I have seen require 4 wires contacts. Are there any that will work with this system?

Thank,
Scott
 
  #2  
Old 06-13-05, 02:47 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,020
Received 139 Votes on 128 Posts
You would have to get devices that are compatable with that wireless setup, which means dealing with RS. There are virtually no aftermarket wireless devices.
 
  #3  
Old 06-14-05, 04:08 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hard WIred Sensors

I understand that I cannot get a aftermarket wireless sensors for this alarm. I am interested in hardwired sensors that will work.

Scott
 
  #4  
Old 06-14-05, 04:38 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,020
Received 139 Votes on 128 Posts
For the hardwired motions to work, you have to get 12v power to them. If the control panel doesn't have a means to provide this, then you are stuck using wireless only. I'm not familier with these RS models, so I don't know what outputs and inputs they provide. Other than certain brand specific adressable models, there's no such thing as a 2-wire motion detector.
 
  #5  
Old 06-14-05, 04:45 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do you know of any 2 wire glass breakage sensors or smoke/carbon monoxide?
 
  #6  
Old 06-14-05, 06:35 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,020
Received 139 Votes on 128 Posts
There are the "window bug" devices that stick to a window, but there is a limit to how many can be on a single circuit (like 6-10). Those are purely mechanical. Otherwise, it's the same deal, no 12vdc, no active devices. 2 wire smokes are widely available, but must be connected to the hardwired input zone of an alarm panel that supports such devices.
 
  #7  
Old 06-15-05, 04:24 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks you for you help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: