Ademco LynxR-EN programming question


  #1  
Old 06-17-05, 06:53 PM
offspring47
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ademco LynxR-EN programming question

Hello everyone,

I just bought an Ademco LynxR-EN wireless alarm system. Well, I am at the very earliest stages of setting it up and I am already stuck. I wired the system with 18# wire like they recommended in the manual but when I go to plug the system in the siren goes off for about 4 or 5 seconds then stops. The time shows up on the screen so I think everything is alright. When I go to enter programming mode by pressing # and * I get nothing. I have tried multiple times with no luck. Could the voltage be wrong going to the panel? Is the siren going off for 4 or 5 seconds at power up normal? Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 06-18-05, 07:58 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,020
Received 139 Votes on 128 Posts
Try 4112 + 800. The *+# is only needed when you don't have the program code. It's in the first paragraphs in the chapter on the "mechanics of programming".

This, of course, assumes a new system that's at factory defaults.
 
  #3  
Old 06-18-05, 08:12 AM
offspring47
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the reply.

I probably should have mentioned that I had already tried that along with '4112+888' to try and get into the voice prompt programming. Still nothing. And I am making sure that I am pushing the buttons maybe not even a second apart. Is the siren at power up normal? Any other ideas what may be happening.
 
  #4  
Old 06-18-05, 11:27 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,020
Received 139 Votes on 128 Posts
Are you certain that this system has the default program code? If nothing else, the *+# within 50 seconds of power up _should_ put you into program. The siren blip on power up is normal, as best I can tell (many of the Ademco panels do this). This thing almost sounds like it has been given an installer lockout using downloader software (which can lock out all local access).

You can try holding * + # while power is applied.
 
  #5  
Old 06-18-05, 12:15 PM
offspring47
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
okay, now I am getting somewhere. I tried pressing # + * while powering up and that seemed to do something. "20" showed on the display. I then proceeded to press #20 then 4-1-1-2, heard the 3 beeps, and now should be set back to default installer code. I then proceeded to press 4-1-1-2 + 8-8-8 to try and get into Voice Prompt Programming. I was supposed to hear the "Voice" but instead I heard nothing and "Pro" displayed on the screen. Any ideas?

Thanks so much for the help so far.
 
  #6  
Old 06-18-05, 01:10 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,020
Received 139 Votes on 128 Posts
You have to exit programming with *99 first, before you try re-enter the voice program mode.
 
  #7  
Old 06-18-05, 01:39 PM
offspring47
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank god I am not a technical writer for all the little details that I leave out. I did enter the *99 to exit programming then I pressed the 4112+888 to try and get into voice programming mode. It just states "pro" on the lcd panel and nothing.
 
  #8  
Old 06-18-05, 03:58 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Naples.Fl
Posts: 154
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so it does'nt say programming verbally. when it it showing pro which it should. if you press 3 or 6 doe's it scroll through choices? Has it ever said anything? I believe there was a version that they put to market in the transition from the original one which did not support voice prompt programming to the one that did support voice prompt programming I am not sure of the version number if it's that one I am not sure if it will let you do it
 
  #9  
Old 06-18-05, 10:04 PM
offspring47
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
No, it doesn't "say" anything. When I try and go into voice prompt programming it just says "Pro" on the LCD display. How would I know if this is the model that doesn't have the voice prompt programming? Also, I thought all LynxR-En had the voice prompt programming built in?
 
  #10  
Old 06-19-05, 04:40 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Naples.Fl
Posts: 154
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To coin a phrase from you "thank god I'm not a technical writer" I did not read your entire post yes lynxr-en have voice prompt. I would be looking toward a bad speaker or voice circuitry. When it is showing pro on the lcd(stands for programming ) It should verbalize that at that point also. I don't have one to referance to on my truck but a lot of the Ademco products have a speaker with a very small connector that plugs in on the board if it doe's check that connection. this is just an example does'nt pertain to your system but on the 6160 keypads I would say that our service dept goes back on 25% of these to replace the speaker after the installer pulled or loosened this wire not a knock on Ademco. Just a poke at installers. With the get in, get out, get paid, get home mentality. Sorry for the rant
 
  #11  
Old 06-19-05, 07:22 AM
offspring47
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Okay, just learned something else. The voice "does" work. Just not properly. When I originally powered up the panel I couldn't get into programming mode. I wanted to see if I could get anything to work so I proceeded to try out the message record feature by pressing "Function + Record". I went on to ramble for a good 30 or so seconds before I stopped recording. So what does this mean? Well, when I go into voice prompt programming mode, instead of hearing"Programming, use arrows to scroll choices, press select to accept, press escape to quit", I hear myself rambling on in the recording that I made. So somehow I re-programmed the unit with my recording for voice prompt programming? Is this even possible?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: