PC5508Z Can't reset


  #1  
Old 06-25-05, 08:26 PM
N2TRUX
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
PC5508Z Can't reset

I have a DSC system in my home that started giving trouble codes. While trying to reset the codes the alarm went off. Now I can not get the alarm to reset. I have called the monitering company and their "on call" technician is supposed to call me back. In the meantime I am pulling my hair out trying to find info on how to reset this thing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated....
 
  #2  
Old 06-25-05, 09:47 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,020
Received 139 Votes on 128 Posts
5508Z is the keypad model. What model system is it attached to?
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-05, 10:20 PM
N2TRUX
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ooops, my bad! It says on the control panel that it's a PC 1555. I had to disconnect the transformer that powers the siren. Does that also send power to the system? Now the key pad is dead too?
 
  #4  
Old 06-26-05, 06:36 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Naples.Fl
Posts: 154
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
when you say you were trying to reset codes you weren't meaning your user code were you? Also your battery should have kept your system running after you unplugged transformer ,probable cause of your trouble light originally. if you are lucky they did not program for power up in previous state. so when you power up it will be disarmed. post back
 
  #5  
Old 06-26-05, 07:19 AM
N2TRUX
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
SteveFl- I was trying to reset the error codes. I had zones 3 4 5 & 8 lit and the "trouble" light was on. Since I don't have a user manual I pushed the "reset" many times then tried some combinations of * and #. I'm not sure what combo set the system off though.

I also noticed that the sirens (2) didn't sound normal. They seemed like they were running on about half voltage. Were they trying to use back up battery power?

Yes when I powered the system back up this morning it was reset. The "ready" light was on as well as the "trouble" light.

The system is 5.5 years old and the back up battery has never been replaced. Can I assume that since it did not power the system after I unplugged the transformer the battery needs to be replaced? The battery is a model #UB1245 12v 4.5 ah dry cell. Where is the best place to buy one?
 
  #6  
Old 06-26-05, 02:12 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,020
Received 139 Votes on 128 Posts
You can go Here for the user manual.

The best place for the battery is a local battery dealer (like Interstate), the next best place is places like Radio Shack, Home Centers (the same batteries are used in emergency lights) and local alarm dealers. Avoid mail/web order, because the shipping on what's essentially a block of lead and acid can be pretty brutal.

5 years is about average for a battery. One of your trouble lights will be for the system clock. Once you have a user manual, you should be able to reset it and clear that trouble.
 
  #7  
Old 06-26-05, 02:20 PM
N2TRUX
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the link. I did a google and come up with some basic info. I didn't think to go directly to the DSC site. The system fail again today, so I unplugged the transformer again. I plan to change the 9v battery in the motion detector and see what happens.

I'll let ya'll know how it goes....
 
  #8  
Old 06-27-05, 05:55 PM
N2TRUX
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Well lets see if this works. I bought a system back up battery today at Fry's Electronic store (17.95). I installed it and 4 new triple A batteries in my wireless motion detector (WLS 904) and reset the time/date.

That cleared all my trouble codes and I have a green light. Hopefully this will solve my problems....
 
  #9  
Old 06-27-05, 07:10 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,020
Received 139 Votes on 128 Posts
Bear in mind, when the batteries in one wireless transmitter goes, the others usually aren't too far behind. I'm not saying to change them now, just keep a 6 or 12 pack of the proper sized batteries on hand.
 
  #10  
Old 06-27-05, 07:40 PM
N2TRUX
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Actually I only have one in this system. I wouldn't have that one if the construction workers hadn't cut the hard wire lead that was supposed to feed the motion detector.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: