Old Alarm System


  #1  
Old 06-28-05, 04:23 PM
TerrySal
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Old Alarm System

I have a 1987 model Acron alarm system that needs to be reset. The keypad and motion sensors are lit up but I have no idea how to reset/recode/re-arm the system. I understand the company is out of business. Assuming I will continue to be unsuccessful in my attempts to find out how to reset the system, I have a couple of questions

1. Since all the wiring and motion sensors, etc. are already installed, can I just get a new key pad from a different company and use the wiring I have?

2. Am I wasting a ton of electricity by leaving the thing plugged in?

Thanks in advance

Terry
 
  #2  
Old 06-28-05, 07:32 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
GE inherited the Acron panels. They are discontinued, but the information is available. However, we need a more specific model (there were several). On the whole, honorable retirement to the dumpster is probably the fate of this system.

You can reuse the existing wiring (generally) for a new system, and things like the motion detector will still work (assuming a 12v system), but an replacement for the motion might be in order. Motion detectors have become a lot more reliable over the last decade or so.

An alarm system typically draws about 10-30 watts max, far less, in standby. A kids nightlight might draw more.
 
  #3  
Old 06-30-05, 06:28 AM
TerrySal
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the info.
 
  #4  
Old 07-13-05, 08:58 PM
usmcmp
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
definately retire the acron rather than putting alot of time and effort into it, those panels were discontinued for good reason. replace devices as needed, i would also recommend replacing the motion detectors, they definately have come a long.... long way in the past decade. the wiring should be fine depending on the quality of the initial installation, potential splice points, and possibly depending on which panel was used a difference in end of line resistor values if they were used out at devices or splice points.
good luck
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: