DSC 832 PC5108 8 Zone Expander


  #1  
Old 07-30-05, 11:08 AM
FAAET
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
DSC 832 PC5108 8 Zone Expander

I recently built a new house and in the process I installed a DSC 832 security system using a LCD 5500Z keypad. I installed a PC5108 Zone Expander into the system, but the expand appears not to work. I set the jumpers to obtain zones 9 thru 16 on the expander. I entered section 902 to allow the system to sense the expander and then entered section 903 to verify the expander was supervised. All of the previous actions resulted in the correct displays. I do not get any type of alarm from the expander. With no connections to the zones 9 thru 16, I still obtain a ready LED on the keypad. I have gone thru the installation and programming manuals several time in an effort to find some command I have missed. As a side note, zone 2 on the motherboard acts the same way. I can not get it to display an alarm. All other zones operate per their programming instructions. I would appreciate any help with solving these problems so I may use the system at its capactiy. Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 07-30-05, 12:34 PM
K
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: canada
Posts: 45
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
did you enter the zone definition in 002 and did you enable zones in202.
i think you did not do the last step, so go in 202 and enable the zone you have used so 1 is for 9 2 for 10 and so on.
 
  #3  
Old 07-30-05, 02:03 PM
FAAET
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks Kimshow, that did the trick. Actually, it was section 203 I had to make the changes in as opposed to section 202, but it works. If only DSC can make this a little more complicated. ) Do you have an ideas on the second part of my orignal question? Zone 2 stays happy even with no short on it. I have checked its setup against the other zones and it appears okay. Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 07-30-05, 02:22 PM
FAAET
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
2nd Part of My First Question DSC Alarm

Thanks Kimshow, that did the trick. Actually, it was section 203 I had to make the changes in as opposed to section 202, but it works. If only DSC can make this a little more complicated. ) Do you have an ideas on the second part of my orignal question? Zone 2 stays happy even with no short on it. I have checked its setup against the other zones and it appears okay. Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 07-30-05, 03:15 PM
FAAET
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I am replying to my own post so that maybe it will help someone else. I eventually found that the reason my zone #2 would never show in alarm was due to the fact I had inadvertently set my keypad zone assignment, section 020, to 02, thus making it zone 2. Once I placed this section back to 00, my zone 2 operates correctly. Now I have a slight bell problem I am going to try and resolve myself before I ask any more questions here.
 
  #6  
Old 07-31-05, 12:57 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,327
Received 265 Upvotes on 244 Posts
DSC programming is notoriously obtuse.

For the zone 2 issue, does the zone show open if you physically disconnect the wire at the panel terminals. If so, you may simply have a bad contact (especially if it's one of the press fit types, they can be damaged in installation. There are also things as simple as crushed or skinned wires.

A final thing is to make sure that any openings on the zone loop in question are wired in series, not in parallel. If they are in parallel, all openings have to be open for the zone to open.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: