Power 832 5010


  #1  
Old 08-07-05, 10:08 AM
Ericc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Power 832 5010

I have reset the system to the factory default. entered a master code and disabled the phone line. I havbe no light on, on the key pad and it says "secure system before ariming" I have been thru the manual and am stuck at this point. If anyone is willing to help me by phone while I stand by the key pad I would be very greatful. I would be glad to give u my phone number or call you. <Email address removed per forum policy>

Thanks


Eric
 
  #2  
Old 08-07-05, 03:02 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
It's a combination of things most likely. When you defaulted the system, you defaulted the settings for the zones back to the factory default, including the setting that turns off the requirement for resistors on the zone loops (many installers that install DSC panels don't want to mess with the resistors). This is programming section 13 option 1.

It sounds like you have the LCD keypad. If you press the [] keys, it will likely show zones open.
 
  #3  
Old 08-07-05, 04:14 PM
Ericc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
power 832

Yes I have the LCD. Each zone does show the system as open. I could not find a section 13 to go into option one. Can u help me from here?

Eric
 

Last edited by Ericc; 08-07-05 at 04:34 PM.
  #4  
Old 08-07-05, 07:04 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
It's one of the option areas. Go to program. Go to section 13 if you have defaulted the panel you will see the digits 3, 6, & 7. Press the 1 key. 1 will be added to the display. Exit programming. This should solve the open zone problem (assuming no zones are actually open).

You will still need to re-configure the zone settings, most likely. It sounds like you need to give the programming instructions at the start of the programming section of your installer manual a good read through. DSC programming is _not_ user friendly.
 
  #5  
Old 08-09-05, 11:33 AM
Ericc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you much for the help.

I added 1 to section 13. The system still says secure system. All of the zones ar still listed and they all show as open. Any new ideas?
 
  #6  
Old 08-09-05, 06:03 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
Have you actually checked to see if any of the loops are actually open? Scroll through and note which zones are showing as open. Then take the wires for those zones off the terminals and see if they show closed (shorted) or open using any form of continuity tester you have available.

If they test as closed, then it'a a panel programming issue, if they test as open, then you have one or more door or window contacts open (missing a magnet, cut wire, etc.)

By the way, does this thing have wireless zones?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: