Safewatch Pro 2000 Keypad?


  #1  
Old 12-29-05, 04:26 PM
oesterj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Safewatch Pro 2000 Keypad?

I have recently moved into an condo where there was is a Safewatch Pro 2000 security system installed, but no key pad. I have the programers guide and everything, but no key pad. Weird huh. Don't know where it went, but would like to hook up the system. Reading through you forums it looks like an ademco 6137b would work, but I would have no idea how to hook it up. Would the Ademco 3137b work and would it be difficult to hook up. Help please. Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 12-29-05, 04:40 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
That keypad will work, but if you need to program any zone information or any of the more advanced functions (like zone lists, outputs, etc.) it will not help you.

The hookup is very straight forward, it's a matter of matching color codes. The install manual you want for this system (if you don't have one) is Ademco Vista 20se.

If I had to guess, the keypad got broken or removed during renovation and never replaced.
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-05, 09:07 AM
oesterj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Which one is best

Thanks so much for replying, MrRonFL. That is great. I have one more question. Do you recommend a different keypad that could program some of the advanced functions? Or is the ademco 6137b my best bet?
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-05, 03:15 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
If you already have that keypad, you can find out if the system is actually functional. To do the other functions, you need one of the alphanumeric models like the 6139 or the 6160. The one you have is a "fixed alpha" design that's fine for day to day use, but limited in programming uses.
 
  #5  
Old 01-31-06, 02:08 PM
oesterj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks again for your help. I've obtained a Ademco 6139 keypad and hope to install it soon. I'm wondering if there is a manual out there that can help me put a 6139 keypad into a Safewatch 2000 system. Also can I make it so that the system calls my cell phone when the alarm is tripped?
 
  #6  
Old 01-31-06, 02:21 PM
oesterj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Also are there any heads up I should know before I install this keypad? Like what will I need to do when I get it wired and turn it on. Seems like I'll need to do some programming, but I have no idea where I would start. thanks again.
 
  #7  
Old 01-31-06, 04:49 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
The Safewatch 2000 is a slightly modified version of the Honeywell/Ademco Vista-20se, so that's the manual you want to search for. That same manual will also give you the information you need to extract the installer code and use it to set a new master code.

For this model, the keypad should work right out of the box at it's default configuration.
 
  #8  
Old 02-01-06, 11:51 AM
oesterj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks, I'm off to set it up this weekend.
 
  #9  
Old 02-01-06, 12:00 PM
oesterj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
actually I have one more question. For the life of me I can not find where the other keypad was installed. There is no evidence of a keypad anywhere. However from the control/wire panel there is a wire coming out from the keypad terminals that says (keypad) on it and it goes into the wall. I don't know where it comes out though. I'm assuming they patched up the wall where it came out. Any pointers on finding out where it is. It's an ADT system.

Thanks so much for your help so far Mr. RonFL!!!!!
 
  #10  
Old 02-01-06, 03:17 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
It's bound to be at the primary entry door, or possibly the garage entry door, if there is one. The best you can do is to hold you head close to the wall and sight along the wall surface with decent light. Unless they were _really_ good the outline of the patched area will likely be visible.

I find stuff like this using a tone generator and a "sniffer", but even the cheap versions of those run about 70-80 dollars for the set.
 
  #11  
Old 02-04-06, 11:40 AM
oesterj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Well I found the wire. It was by the front door.
Okay I have the system wired up and power going to the Ademco 6139 panel, but I can't get the installer code off of it. I tried 6321 and I also tried the power down and then hit # + *. It doesn't respond at all. It does power up and eventually says "disarmed, ready to arm." The only thing different I've noticed is that I don't have a battery. My battery is completely dead. I'm going to get a new one eventually, but not this instant. Do you think that is my problem.
Please help!!
Also got this keypad off e-bay. It was on another system. Does that make a difference.
Thanks again.
 
  #12  
Old 02-04-06, 12:24 PM
oesterj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Doh

Hey Mr. RonFL. I'm not so smart. I had the wires mixed up so there was not information coming from the keypad to the control panel. Actually the control panel had a blue wire coming off for the keypad in and I just hooked up to the blue wire coming off the keypad. But it's the green one!!!!!! What is that blue wire for??? Oh well So all things are good now.
 
  #13  
Old 02-04-06, 05:21 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
That blue wire was for a seldom used voice interface that I've never seen installed in a system. I think they pretty much gave up on that feature.
 
  #14  
Old 02-11-06, 10:45 AM
oesterj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
okay one more question

I have the system set up and it's monitoring great, but I haven't fully figured out how to have the system call my cell phone. I put the phone number in field 41 for Primary phone number, but I don't know how to test it and make it call me. Also is there any way it can send me a text message of the faulted zones.
thanks again. without you my place wouldn't be as safe!
Joel
 
  #15  
Old 02-11-06, 09:22 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
It won't work that way.

You have to program no number for primary, the cell number as the secondary number, and set the the reporting format for contact ID. In section *49, enter a 6.

I'm not sure that it will work without a primary report number. This panel was never designed to communicate with a cell phone. The best you can do is fake a pager type output.
 
  #16  
Old 02-20-06, 04:24 PM
oesterj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
okay I've set it. now how would i have it send a test message??
 
  #17  
Old 02-20-06, 07:05 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
Arm and trip the alarm. There is also a Test command [code] + 5.
 
  #18  
Old 01-07-07, 03:53 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mr RonFL, I am trying to add 2 wireless points to my safe watch 2000,, Where
can I get a programming manual?

thanks
 
  #19  
Old 01-07-07, 04:16 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,586
Received 312 Upvotes on 287 Posts
Websearch using the phrase: "Installer manual Vista 20se"

This is a common panel, there will likely be a free download among the hits.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: