DSC 832 Programming Assistance, Please!


  #1  
Old 01-19-06, 11:51 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
DSC 832 Programming Assistance, Please!

DSC 832 Setting up and Programming Help Required:

Hello.
I have recently wired and installed my DSC 832 System and I’m trying to make understanding of the Programming guide and was hoping someone could assist with a step by step on programming the system. (My wife says I’m driving her crazy trying to figure it out)

I initially performed the Keypad Assignment but since did a complete AC DC power cycle. Do I have to do this again or is it stored. I’d almost like to start from scratch with the guidance of someone. This is all I have done, not sure if I’m ready for programming yet or are there other steps to do first.

First thing (don’t laugh) I can’t get the time and date to program.
-Steps I’m taking:
To set the system time, enter[*] [6] followed by the Master Code (default 1234).
Press [1]
The keypad will now accept 10 consecutive digits:
-----At this point the unit just beeps but does not display anything on the screen???
• Enter the Time in Hours and Minutes using the 24 Hour format (00:00 to 23:59).
• Enter the Date in Months, Days and Years (MM DD YY).

Second thing, I need a run down of how to wire my single 4 wire DSC smoke detector, in plain English please.


My system consists of the following:

2 x LCD keypads (one at front door other on second floor in hallway)
Z1 – front door (nc) (require delay)
Z2 – access door from garage (nc) (require delay)
Z3 – garage access door contact (nc) (instant)
Z4 – sliding patio door contact (nc) (instant)
Z5 – family room motion (bypass when in Stay)
Z6 – living room motion (bypass when in Stay)
Z7 – 4 wire DSC smoke detector (I need clarification on wiring the 1 smoke)


Thanks in advance.

Mike
 
  #2  
Old 01-19-06, 04:15 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,626
Received 321 Upvotes on 296 Posts
First of all, which keypad do you have? If you have the 5501z keypad, the procedures are somewhat different, as these keypads have their own programming subroutine, and display the data differently than the standard LED or Alphanumeric LCD keypad.

If you did it correctly, you don't have to re-enroll the keypad, the date is in an eeprom and doesn't go away with a power cycle, only the system clock resets on power cycle.

For the Smoke. The + and - power connects to Aux + and PGM2 respectively,
The alarm terminals go to the zone input, a 5.6K resistor must go across the alarm terminals, even if you have the alarm inputs set to not need resistors. If you are using a power supervision relay it's a little more complicated, but for a single detector it's not really an issue (although it _is_ the correct and proper wiring method).
 
  #3  
Old 01-19-06, 08:30 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
...

First off thanks for the reply.

Sorry about that yes I do have the 5501z keypads.

Mike
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-06, 07:23 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,626
Received 321 Upvotes on 296 Posts
The time and date display on this model keypad is controlled by the seperate keypad programming that's detailed on the instructions that came with the keypad. This takes the place of the section 000 keypad programming in the standard system manual.

Referring to the zone type chart in your manual and program sheets:

Z1 – front door (nc) (require delay) this will be zone type 01
Z2 – access door from garage (nc) (require delay) this will be zone type 01
Z3 – garage access door contact (nc) (instant)this will be zone type 03
Z4 – sliding patio door contact (nc) (instant) this will be zone type 03
Z5 – family room motion (bypass when in Stay) this will be zone type 05
Z6 – living room motion (bypass when in Stay) this will be zone type 05
Z7 – 4 wire DSC smoke detector (I need clarification on wiring the 1 smoke) this will be zone type 07
Zone 8, which you aren't using will be 00 (null)

For the step by step, please read over the recent posts regarding DSC 832 and 632 panels in this forum. This topic has been covered several times in the last couple of weeks. This thread is the same information, and you only have to change the numbers to suit your specific installation.
 
  #5  
Old 01-26-06, 09:58 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Programming done

Hi Ron.

Between posts I did manage to program the system (incl. time) using the exact forum you quoted. If you read the manual about 600 times it starts to make a bit of sense.

Just 2 quick things.

1. My Z2 is acting as an instant zone in Stay or Away. (siren goes off instantly)
My Z1 is working fine.
"Z2 – access door from garage (nc) (require delay) this will be zone type 01"

2. For the smoke detector/zone I originally had it set to 08 'standard', you suggest 07 'delayed'. What is the reason for that?
Lastly: I mentioned I had a DSC smoke detector, it's actually a System Sensor brand, I'm going to find the exact model when I get home tonight.

Thanks Ron.
Mike (Canada)
 
  #6  
Old 01-26-06, 04:18 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 62
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The reason for the delayed fire for smoke detectors is so when you burn your toast you have 30 seconds i believe to disarm before it transmits to the station and you end up with fire trucks at the house.

Standard fire or 08 is usually used for heat detectors.
 
  #7  
Old 01-26-06, 05:23 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
System All Programmed

Thanks.

I have reprogrammed the system using 08 for my smoke detector as it's the only one hooked to the alarm and resides in the basement. There is not much chance or "burning toast" down there. Also my System Sensor brand smoke detector wiring had to be changed as it defers to that of the DSC brand I originally thought I had.

All is now functioning and my Z2 garage access door is acting in delayed mode as it should.

Thanks for the replies / posts these forums are very helpful. While waiting for replies to my posts I was able to (due to impatience) figure pretty much the entire process and programming on my own.

Mike
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: