Newbie-PC1555 wireless programming help


  #1  
Old 02-08-06, 05:29 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Newbie-PC1555 wireless programming help

Hello, I am new here asking for little help from the Proís.
Here is my setup
PC1555 CP-01 ver 3.2 DSC Power 632
1 LCD5501Z32-433 keypad
1 RF5501-433 keypad
5 WLS925L-433
few wired motion sensors and window contacts

LCD5501Z32-433 is on partition 1 slot 1 and RF5501-433 is on partition 1 slot 2. The hard wired sensors and contacts are on Zone 1-3. My wireless sensors are set on zone 9-13. I do have the zone definitions setup in section 001 and 203. I have also turned on option #8 in section 109-113.
Once I enroll the wireless contacts I get a trouble message as Light 1 which then tells me itís Light 3 and 6.
I got 2 out of 5 to work for few minutes and then I get the trouble message. The covers and closed and the batteries are brand new. I am stuck here. I search the forum to get some answers but I really didnít find what I think I need. I read the manual thoroughly (I think) but I know I am missing something. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance
 
  #2  
Old 02-08-06, 06:06 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 864
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do you have a phone line connected? Light 3 is the telephone line monitoring. If this is enabled and you have no dial tone, or no line connected this will light. Disable in section 15, light 7 should be off.

Light 6 is zone tampering. Are you zones properly configured for use with resistors? The proper setting depends on how your zones are wired.

Light 1 will clear when 6 is restored, I think.

Note: I'm no professional, but this may get you started until more qualified personnel arrives.
 
  #3  
Old 02-08-06, 07:06 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply, however, I don't think I was clear on the trouble light.
I get a trouble light 1. There is an option to press 1 to further diagnose the problem. When I hit 1 than I get trouble light 3 and 6.

Light 3 is General System Trouble
Light 6 is RF Jam:

By the way, I disabled my RF option and still get that trouble code.

Thanks

More information is greatly appreciated.
 
  #4  
Old 02-08-06, 07:32 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 864
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ah, you are right. Missed that code level. You disabled RF Jam detect? That should clear then... Did you set a zone for Jam Detect?

Hopefully Ron will be around shortly...
 
  #5  
Old 02-08-06, 10:08 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,326
Received 265 Upvotes on 244 Posts
Problem number one: You have multiple recievers in your system. There is a module for DSC: PC5320 that will allow multiple wireless recievers to coexist. You don't get any more zones, but the multiple recievers like you have extends your range, considerably.

The only other option is to change one of the reciever keypads to a non-wireless reciever keypad.
 
  #6  
Old 02-09-06, 05:34 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by MrRonFL
Problem number one: You have multiple recievers in your system. There is a module for DSC: PC5320 that will allow multiple wireless recievers to coexist. You don't get any more zones, but the multiple recievers like you have extends your range, considerably.

The only other option is to change one of the reciever keypads to a non-wireless reciever keypad.
So all of my problems are caused by dual wireless receivers built in the keypads? Well I do have a PC5508 keypad that I will try tonight. I believe that my wireless zones must be between 1-8 for the new LED keypad to show once they are "Open".
Thank you for your help and I will keep you posted on the progress.
 
  #7  
Old 02-12-06, 05:42 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Dreamer
So all of my problems are caused by dual wireless receivers built in the keypads? Well I do have a PC5508 keypad that I will try tonight. I believe that my wireless zones must be between 1-8 for the new LED keypad to show once they are "Open".
Thank you for your help and I will keep you posted on the progress.
I'm back and I need some major help.
I connected the LED keypad without the wireless receiver. My problem with the Trouble Code #1 was eliminated. However, I can't program the wireless WLS925L-433 contacts. I did set the zones 1,2 and 3 for hardwired contacts/motion sensors. Zones 4-8 are accupied by wireless contacts. The zones on section 001 and 202 are all set. The #8 attribute is set "On" for section 104-108. The wireless contacts are not recognized and the Zones remain "open" according to the keypad.
It's getting really frustrated. I know I missing something but I can't figure out what it is ? Please help me out or point to a source where I can find more information than what I could gather from the installation instructions.

Thanks in advance
 
  #8  
Old 02-12-06, 06:55 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 62
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Did you range test the devices?
Are the covers in place?

range testing
section 904
subsection 04-08 just open and close the door etc. you should hear the keypad beep.

and the DSC 433mhz contacts have a really tiny gap, so they have to be lined up well. As well when you mounted them are you sure you have the reed switch(little clear plastic tube on the circuit board) and the magent lined up together?
 
  #9  
Old 02-13-06, 04:43 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Alarmtech101
Did you range test the devices?
Are the covers in place?

range testing
section 904
subsection 04-08 just open and close the door etc. you should hear the keypad beep.

and the DSC 433mhz contacts have a really tiny gap, so they have to be lined up well. As well when you mounted them are you sure you have the reed switch(little clear plastic tube on the circuit board) and the magent lined up together?
Yes, I did the range test, however, some of the devices did not show any signs of "life" and some indicated a bad reception (Light 3 was on).

Yes the covers are on. The devices are not mounted yet so I have them all in the same room about 5 feet away from the keypad. Yes the magnet is resting directly on the receiver part right above the reed switch. Basically everything is line up.

Again, any advice/info is greatly appreciated. I hate to call a professional since I came thus far ...
 
  #10  
Old 02-13-06, 03:54 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 62
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
only things i could suggest thus far then is are the batteries good? Are they in the right way? Are you sure you have the serial numbers entered right?

Short of that you might have a few bad devices.
 
  #11  
Old 02-13-06, 03:58 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,326
Received 265 Upvotes on 244 Posts
At risk of being obvious...Have you checked the batteries?

Annoyingly, this is one of those things that if we were looking at it directly, something obvious would usually come to eye.

If you have the serial numbers learned in, the appropriate zones set as wireless, the zone type set correctly, the battery covers are closed, the magnets in an active spot, then it should work.

Did you re-enter the serial numbers after you removed the second reciever from the system? It can't hurt to check.
 
  #12  
Old 02-14-06, 04:59 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by MrRonFL
At risk of being obvious...Have you checked the batteries?

Annoyingly, this is one of those things that if we were looking at it directly, something obvious would usually come to eye.

If you have the serial numbers learned in, the appropriate zones set as wireless, the zone type set correctly, the battery covers are closed, the magnets in an active spot, then it should work.

Did you re-enter the serial numbers after you removed the second reciever from the system? It can't hurt to check.
Thanks again for the info. Yes I did check the batteries and their position as well as the magnets location against the reed switch.
My last hope is to reset the system and start from scratch. I will remove one keypad and see if it makes any difference.
Dumb question, I don't need any resistors for the wireless zones right?

If my last attempt doesn't work, I am throwing down the towel.
Wish me luck !!! thanks again for your input.
 
  #13  
Old 02-14-06, 09:50 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,326
Received 265 Upvotes on 244 Posts
You shouldn't need the resistors on the zones that are being used by the wireless devices, but if you are using them on the other hard wire zones, go ahead and put them on; it can't hurt anything. Leave your keypads connected, but try re-entering the serial numbers for the transmitters. Clearly there's some minor detail goofing things up, but darned if I can spot a flaw in what you are doing....
 
  #14  
Old 02-19-06, 08:49 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wireless fixed! Wired motion sensors?????

Originally Posted by MrRonFL
You shouldn't need the resistors on the zones that are being used by the wireless devices, but if you are using them on the other hard wire zones, go ahead and put them on; it can't hurt anything. Leave your keypads connected, but try re-entering the serial numbers for the transmitters. Clearly there's some minor detail goofing things up, but darned if I can spot a flaw in what you are doing....
Just a quick follow up. Today I finally got the wireless devices to work, all of them. I basically reset the alarm and individually program each wireless with the new LED keypad. Following the input, I test the placement and what do you know, everything works perfect. I thank you guys for your help. I was very close on calling the propesionals.

One more question? I have two zones with 2 hardwired motion detectors connected on each zone. However, one of the two motions in both zones do not work. I mean they power up and the sensor does work but do not provide input to the keybus. So the questions are :

Can you have two or more hardwired motion sensors on one zone?
If yes, than is there anything "special" I need to do?
I simply contected 4 wires as directed to the keybus for both motion sensors.

Again any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
 
  #15  
Old 02-19-06, 09:33 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 62
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Make sure if you have 2 detectors on the same zone you wired the contacts in series not parallel. You only have to series the zone wires not the power wires.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: