monitoring Contact about to expire


  #1  
Old 12-13-06, 07:49 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
monitoring Contact about to expire

I'm currently on a three year monitoring contact with Safetech in Toronto. This contact will expire in 3 months and then I'd own the system which is DSC 5010 with LCD5501 keypad.
At the end of contact I am thinking about switching over to some other cheaper monitoring company. After reading these forums I learnned about the installer code, Tried all the possible defaults (5555, 5010, 5501) and none of them worked for me. And the chances are that installer code lockout feature is also enabled on the system, so reset might not help.
I'm not sure if at the end of contact, Safetech would willingly dial-in and reset the system to factory default. And I don't know what the law is regarding these isuues in Canada.
Since I still have few months left with Safetech, Is there a way I can trick them to give me the installer code? I was thinking asking them how to change the start delay? But they probably would do it directly over the phone. Is there anyway else?

On another note, I noticed few companies offering reset even for a locked out systems (hxxp://www3.sympatico.ca/rh.campbell/unlocking_services.htm). How they do it, I suppose the parameters are stored in flash memory on the system. Do they pull the IC and clear the contents? Can I do the same?
 
  #2  
Old 12-13-06, 02:36 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,033
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello,
I had a similar issue with my alarm when I bought the house. The previous owners had an alarm company that had their own installer code and that was unknown. When I went to get service from a different place, they just had me remove power from the main alarm box, disconnect battery for a minute, then reconnect. This reset the system to factory defaults and then I could being programming. I'm sure your new company can do this as well, but, you will have to talk to them and see.
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-06, 02:47 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
It's going to vary depending on how the installing company set the system up. The power down and restart only works for specific brands and models.

The simple solution is to tell your current company that you want the system to be local only at the end of the contract and have them change the installer code to either the default, or one you request, and erase their monitoring numbers. They will probably hit you for a service call charge to do it, but then you will be over and done, and have access to your hardware.
 
  #4  
Old 12-13-06, 07:39 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick replies.
Would this restart thing work on my model, which is DSC 832 5010? Even if the installer lockout is enabled?
Telling them that I want to go local at the end of contract sounds like a good idea, I'd do that.
Any idea about how some companies are offering factory reset even if installer lockout is enabled?
 
  #5  
Old 12-13-06, 08:02 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
The power down and restart sequence only works with ademco and a couple of others. DSC is one of the systems that is pretty much locked out if the installer sets that lockout. I think that DSC has a way at the factory to reset the things, but except for a couple of the older systems, if the hardware default procedure doesn't work, you are stuck.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: