DSC PC1555MX and RF5501-433 Wireless Issues


  #1  
Old 12-17-06, 10:07 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSC PC1555MX and RF5501-433 Wireless Issues

I have installed a PC1555MX and RF5501-433 Keypad/Reciever. Wireless Contacts for Front Door, Interior Garage Door, 2 on Slider and 4 Windows. There is also a Wireless Motion Detector and 2 Wireless Key Fobs. I have the programming link and DLS 2002 software as well.

I have everything installed and ran the telco wire direct to the Verizon box for monitoring.

I also ran two lines to the garage for hardwired contacts on the Garage door and an exterior door that I have ordered.

I can connect to the panel with the link cable and see the panel, keypad and 1532 modules.

Does each contact have to be it's own zone, or can I combine say 4 for windows into a single zone?

I cannot gain communications with the sensors. I tried only having a single zone with 1 contact and panel still shows open and a trouble light.

Any help would be greatly appreciated..

Thanks
John
 
  #2  
Old 12-17-06, 11:16 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
Read over your instructions for both the main panel programming and the keypad/receiver. Each wireless device is a seperate zone by definition.

Once you enroll the transmitters, you have to go into the appropriate section in the panel programming (101-132) and turn on the option enabling that particular zone as a wireless zone.
 
  #3  
Old 12-17-06, 01:15 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. I have each wireless device listed as it's own zone and I have the attribute set to wireless in 101-110. I also have the system set for Normally Closed Loops in 013.

System still shows zones 1 to 6 Open and the trouble light is on. If I *2 from the keypad I get code 5.

Any suggestions?
 
  #4  
Old 12-17-06, 02:21 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
On the assumption that you are enrolling these wireless transmitters into zones 1-6, and you are getting a zone fault trouble, the first thing I would check is whether the battery covers are on the transmitters properly, because with them off, they transmit a supervisory that generates that particular trouble.

If you are enrolling the transmitters in zones other than 1-6, and you are not using hardwired devices on those inputs, then you need to set those zone types as 00 for those six zones (and putting a scrap wire jumper across the terminals to close the loop wouldn't hurt).

Also, if you have set a zone for wireless, but there is no transmitter enrolled to that particular zone, I'm pretty sure that you will also get that zone fault trouble.
 
  #5  
Old 12-17-06, 03:04 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRon,

At this point it looks like I am using zones 1-10. I currently have the wireless devices in Zones 1 - 4 and 6-10. I am going to use zone 5 for the hardwired contacts for the Garage Door and Exterior Garage door when they arrive tomorrow or Tuesday.

So if I am understanding you correctly, I should place a jumper on Zones 1,2,3,4 and 6. As for Zone Types being set to 00, do you know which area that would be located in? Also, I am assuming that I would not change the zone type for Zone 5 since it will be hardwired.

This thing is really giving me a run for my money. If only I could have prewired while the house was under construction, and since it's a 2 story, there is no attic to gain access in.

I can't thank you enough for your help. Are you in the mood to make a trip to Clearwater?
 
  #6  
Old 12-17-06, 06:43 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
No

If you are using the zone, then you set the zone type (programming section 001) to the correct zone type definition for what you are using the zone for. If it's a entry/exit door, you set it for a delay zone; if it's a motion detector you set it for one of the interior zone types, etc. Zone type 00 is only for unused zones.

In theory, if you have the zones and wireless programmed correctly (I am also assuming that you have the magnets for the transmitters correctly aligned with the transmitter), you don't need the jumpers, but they don't hurt anything. Since you don't have anything connected to zone 5 put a temporary jumper on it to close the zone. Zone 5 should _not_ be set as wireless.

In many ways trying to use the software is probably adding to the confusion, because it sounds like you aren't really looking at the actual setup and configuration manuals for the hardware.
 
  #7  
Old 12-17-06, 07:29 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I chose to use the software because the keypad is fixed message LCD and for me the software allows me to see the actual settings. I also have a second system to install which will be substantially similar to this one that I am battling now.

I thought that with the software once I had the first one working then I could download the template to the other system and make things a little easier.

I have all of the manuals for each of the components, but as you know they are not organized in the best manner. If I don't have success when I am able to work on it tomorrow, then I think the time has come to reset to factory defaults and start over again.

Thanks again
 
  #8  
Old 12-17-06, 08:34 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
It's not an insult concerning using the software. The point is that the software assumes that the user already has a grasp of DSC's nomenclature and alarm installation in general.

Your steps should have been:
1. Assemble the hardware and power up the system, reserving permanent mounting wireless devices for later
2. Set the keypad address and basic system settings like time delays and turning off the dialer if not to be used.
3. Activate supervision for the system keypads and modules
4. Enroll the wireless devices
5. Activate any wireless zones in the main panel program
6. Program the zone types for all active zones
7. Check the zones for function
8. Mount the wireless devices
9. Check the overall function of the full system

These systems (especially this brand) weren't designed with consumer level end-users in mind. Part of how these companies have traditionally protected their market share is by limiting the technical support to registered dealers.

You shouldn't bother with the default. If you are sure you have properly enrolled the transmitters, all you have to do is correct the minor settings that you have either missed or set incorrectly. If you do choose to default, realize that you have to default the keypad, wireless receiver, and main panel individually. There is no "global" default.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: