Shut Off My Horns! (Caddx NX-6 )


  #1  
Old 02-26-07, 04:12 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Shut Off My Horns! (Caddx NX-6 )

I would really appreciate your help! I am a Grandma in CT, so being less mechanically inclined, I'll try to explain everything as best as I can.

I recently ended my contract with my alarm company due to MANY problems. I have two horns on the system, one in the attic and one in my hallway. These horns seem to go off without any provocation. Could someone please tell me how to get rid of these horns? Do I need to cut the wires on both horns, take out the batteries, etc??? If I remove the batteries from the horns, will that fix the problem? I do have access to both the attic and the hallway horns, so I can do what you suggest. (When I am away from home, my neighbors tell me that they have to listen to the horns going off.)

Also, the system has a call out in case the phone lines are cut. How do I disarm this system from the phone line. Is there a phone line I can pull out?

All in all, I just want my house to go back to the days when I had no alarm. Should I simply pull out all batteries on the entire system? Please help as I plan to visit relatives in a few days and I want to be able to relax! I do not want to call an electrician due to financial restraints. I will be forever greatful for the solution!
 
  #2  
Old 02-26-07, 04:37 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,626
Received 321 Upvotes on 296 Posts
It sounds like you have a poorly done installation and you are getting false trips on one or more devices. If you just want to make it all stop, simply open the system cabinet and unplug any one of the battery leads, then unplug the power pack from the wall outlet. This will turn the whole system off.

Once you have a chance to back away from the irritation of the system's behavior, you can arrange to have the actual source of the false trips sorted out
 
  #3  
Old 02-26-07, 05:51 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Please Clarify Further

In your reply: simply open the system cabinet and unplug any one of the battery leads, then unplug the power pack from the wall outlet. This will turn the whole system off.

When you suggest to unplug the battery leads, does this mean to remove the connections from the battery itself? I just looked at the battery and it has one red wired connection and one black wire connection. Should I remove both connections?

As for the power pack being removed from the wall outlet....where is the power pack located???? I looked inside the box...it contains the battery and wires. I'm not sure what or where the power pack is?????
 
  #4  
Old 02-26-07, 06:24 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mr.RonFL - Further Help Needed Caddx N-6 Horns

In your reply: simply open the system cabinet and unplug any one of the battery leads, then unplug the power pack from the wall outlet. This will turn the whole system off.

When you suggest to unplug the battery leads, does this mean to remove the connections from the battery itself? I just looked at the battery and it has one red wired connection and one black wire connection. Should I remove both connections?

As for the power pack being removed from the wall outlet....where is the power pack located???? I looked inside the box...it contains the battery and wires. I'm not sure what or where the power pack is????? Could the power pack be in the basement, attic, etc? Please tell me exactly what to look for? Is it a small unit, big unit? I'm just not sure of what to look for? The wires go out of the box up into the attic and out of the box through the floor to the basement. Would the power pack be at the end of one of these sets of wires??? Thanks in advance!
 
  #5  
Old 02-26-07, 10:30 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,626
Received 321 Upvotes on 296 Posts
The connections on the battery are just slip on quick connects. Pull off either one (I usually pull the black one for a number of geeky technical reasons).

The power pack is one of the wall plug transformers. In most cases, it will be on an outlet somewhere nearby, if not in the same room, on adjacent wall. Sometimes it can be in an attic outlet, but this is becoming more uncommon.

It could well be in the basement. It will be a (usually) beige wall plug covering the bottom half of an outlet.

Just unscrew the setscrew holding it to the outlet, and unplug it. If you cannot find it, you can take off one of wires at the top edge of the circuit board, just tape it up, because if you short those wires together for even a second, the tranformer will fail.
 
  #6  
Old 02-26-07, 03:13 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mr.RonFL,

I have looked everywhere for the power pack. I tried to follow the wires to the basement and to the attic. I just cannot locate the power pack anywhere. The main componet is in a very small closet and the power pack is definitely not in there either.

As I cannot find the power pack, which of the wires at the top edge of the circuit board should I remove? My circuit board starts at the top and goes down as follows: Telco R1, Telco R, Telco T, Telco T1, Earth, AC, Bell-, Bell +. There is much more wording going down. Are any of these wires the ones that I should pull.....or do you need more of the wording in order to determine which ones I should pull off and tape up?
 
  #7  
Old 02-26-07, 04:35 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,626
Received 321 Upvotes on 296 Posts
Any one of the wires labels AC (it's safe, it's 16volts at pretty low current).

Just loosen the screw, slip the wire out, and throw a wrap of electrical tape around the exposed copper. (there may be two wires under one screw, some installers use 4 conductor wire and double it up, thats why I say only remove one of the terminals, that way you can't mix them up and accidentally destroy the power pack (where ever they tucked it).

Very often the darned things end up behind a piece of furniture.
 
  #8  
Old 02-26-07, 04:57 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Okay...so let me just make sure I have this correct before I actually proceed to disarm this alarm system....

First, I remove just one of the wires to the battery (preferably the black one). Then, I slip the wire out of the label marked AC, and place electrical tape around it. (I am removing just ONE wire marked AC, not two... correct?)

This will shut down the entire system....no more horns...no more phones calling out....no more keypad beeping....I am back to everything being normal before this alarm was installed....

Correct?????
 
  #9  
Old 02-26-07, 06:07 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,626
Received 321 Upvotes on 296 Posts
Yup, that will remove all power from the system.
 
  #10  
Old 02-27-07, 04:05 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mr. RonFL,

I will be trying your method to power down the alarm system on Wednesday. I will write you back here with my results!
 
  #11  
Old 03-04-07, 01:22 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mr.RonFL,

I had complete success!!! Thank you so much for your help! I just wanted to express my sincere appreciation for helping me with this problem. This forum is such a wonderful place. I wanted you to know that I value your knowledge and the generosity of your services. I'm sure hundreds of others feel the same way. Thank you!
 
  #12  
Old 03-04-07, 03:07 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,626
Received 321 Upvotes on 296 Posts
Well, I hope you can get the problems with your system resolved. An alarm system can be a powerful tool for keeping your home and person safe. It sounds like you were given a flawed installation, and far too little end-user instruction.
 
  #13  
Old 03-05-07, 01:43 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 51
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mr.RonFL,

You are absolutely correct with the amount of end-user instruction. When you are get to the point when you are more afraid of your alarm being on...then being off...there is definitely a problem. It got to the point where you didn't want to leave home because something might accidentally trip the alarm, then the horns would sound, and if you were a few states away, there wasn't much you could do. It was just easier to stay at home. With this bad experience, I'm just not sure I want the system again. I'm gun shy. I feel much better now that the system is disabled!

However, if you do visit the CT area, I would be more than happy to hire your alarm skill services!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: