How to determine keypad for Safewatch Pro 3000?


  #1  
Old 03-11-07, 09:34 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How to determine keypad for Safewatch Pro 3000?

Hello... been lurking for a while here and finally decided it was time to do it myself. ADT quoted $$$$ to add a few devices onto my system after a break-in attempt where my ADT alarm DIDNT go off (but my x10 robo dog did! ha) So I learned the hard way that the window contacts won't do any good if someone smashes a window to get in, and doesn't open it. I have lots of questions, but will try to restrain myself and ask them 1 by 1 as the need arises.

I have the ADT Safewatch Pro 3000. The keypad is either a 6150 or a 6160, but I'm having trouble determining exactly which one. It is the only device hardwired to the control panel.

I've looked at pictures of both 6150 and 6160 keypads, in the user guide, and on the control panel, but none really match mine, although they are close. It looks like a 6150, judging from some pictures of the LCD output.

From what I've read here (thank you!) , I can't do any programming unless the keypad is a 6160.

How can the keypad be identified? Can I try to go into program mode without being locked out if it is a 6150? Also I'm not sure what the panel would report back to ADT, and since I haven't divorced them yet, I don't want them to know if I'm trying to reprogram it.

I'm taking MrRon's advice and making sure I know exactly what I have before tinkering with it to change/add zones and devices.

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 03-11-07, 10:29 AM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,754
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
A 6150 will just have a one word status display, i.e. if you are armed away mode, it will just show AWAY on the screen when the 6160 will tell you more.

Type in:

4111 + 8 + 0

If you then see a screen prompting FIELD, you have a 6160. If you get this, you can type in *99 to exit.
 
  #3  
Old 03-11-07, 11:24 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
There is just a one word status display. I thought that might have been the way it was programmed.

Pardon the stupid question. In the key sequence you mentioned, is there a PLUS sign that I'm supposed to key in? (Because there isn't one on my keypad, just a * and #) Or is the key sequence 411180, no pluses? Also, if I DONT have a 6160 nothing happens after this key sequence, and I don't lock myself out or set off a notice to the monitoring service, correct?

Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-07, 11:52 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 277
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
He meant in that sequence. I myself have the safewatch 3000en but no longer run it through ADT. My keypad was the 6150 so I had to buy a new one. I got the 6160 on EBAY brand new for under 100 bucks. The 6150 I had through ADT would have displays in the far right hand corner saying arm/stay,etc....The 6160 will have whole word displays across the screen. So far I have added zones, remotes and reprogrammed the whole system. If it was not for this site I would not be able to do this. You should read all the previous posts, especially a lot of the questions I have asked. The members especially MRRON have guided me in the right direction. Also you should get the installation manual which is online (I google searched it) Good Luck!
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-07, 01:09 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I've read many of the posts (but not all) and have downloaded manuals for the Vista 20p and most of the identified installed components. And I do agree that there is great info and many helpful people here!

I always assumed when reading posts that the + in the key sequences separated fields or codes, but then found some posts where there were * or # involved , so I just wanted to verify that the + wasn't an actual key press since the * and # were.

Its one thing to read this stuff. Its another to stand in front of the keypad and implement what you've read. :::shiver:::

4111 doesn't work on my system, but 6321 does (6321800 but not 632180). When 6321800 is entered on the keypad, 20 is displayed. When #[field number] is entered, the field contents are displayed. I can change field values using *[field number] [new entry]. It LOOKS like I am able to program using this keypad, but from everything I've read and seen, this keypad looks to be a 6150. So I'm confused! Or is it that you can view and change fields with a 6150, but that the new values don't store?

Thanks for all of your help.

~Lisa
 
  #6  
Old 03-11-07, 01:50 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 277
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Lisa,

I had the same issue when I had the 6150. You can get in and do certain tasks but the actual programming you need the 6160 that actually has the displays. For instance when you go into 6321800 on my new 6160 it says "installers code 20" in big letters. When I had the 6150 I believe it just had 20 showing. Again I am learning just like you, hopefully that helped out.
 
  #7  
Old 03-11-07, 02:19 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks Brian. Seems like I remember reading something like that here, but when I went searching for it yesterday & this morning couldn't find it. I'll search again by your ID as you suggested.

If I have to get a new keypad, I'd just as soon get the 6270, unless I can't program the control panel with it.

For now I'm just thrilled to know I have the installer code. }

Thanks to all.
 
  #8  
Old 03-19-07, 09:50 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,630
Received 322 Upvotes on 297 Posts
As long as you keep at least one of the conventional keypads, you can use the programming functions via the 6270. You _can't_ use one to do the * + # trick.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: