CareTaker Plus Security system

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-18-07, 03:12 PM
N
nab
nab is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question CareTaker Plus Security system

I have a CareTaker Plus security system that was installed in 1993. The alarm system beeps rapidly six times indicating a low cpu battery. I replaced the system 12 Volt battery but It still beeps at 11:00 pm every night. I keep pushing different codes and it stops until next day at the same time. I could not find a dealer to help me yet. So if you have any suggestion, would you please tell me what to do to solve this problem?

Thank you
 

Last edited by nab; 03-18-07 at 11:55 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-18-07, 03:32 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Some systems do a battery check every 4-24 hrs. Give it time and see. How long has it been?
 
  #3  
Old 03-18-07, 11:59 PM
N
nab
nab is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
CareTaker Plus

Mark, Thank you for your reply. It did not do this before. I replaced the battery but it still beebs. Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 03-19-07, 03:16 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,393
Received 45 Votes on 44 Posts
You will not find a dealer for this system. It has been out of production for quite a while.

Also, if this is a ITI Caretaker Plus, then the battery should be a 6volt 3.2ah battery, not a 12volt. If you installed a 12v battery, then that may be your problem.
 
  #5  
Old 03-20-07, 08:59 AM
N
nab
nab is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your reply. It is ITI system and the old battery that I replaced was 12 Volt 7.0 AMP. I think GE bought ITI but you are correct I have a difficult time to find a dealer. Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 03-22-07, 01:11 PM
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midland
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Keypad Battery

Didn't most ITI systems have batteries in the keypad as well, like 8 AA batteries or something like that? Or am was that just the Simons?
 
  #7  
Old 03-22-07, 05:38 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is another RF ITI keypad that is available (other than the Simon ones). It's called the Hi-Tech Handheld touchpad. Takes lithium batteries. Looks like a TV remote.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: