Ademco 4285


  #1  
Old 09-17-07, 09:23 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Ademco 4285

I have the Vista 20P with a 4285 VIP
My problem is
I hooked up the 4285 and did the setup in *28
I tried to access the Alarm from my home phone and I get a rapid busy
the instructions state that in some rare instances you have to reverse wires 21 & 22 in the panel and wires 3 & 4 in the 4285 board. I still got a rapid busy AND my Alarm Keypad showed "CHECK 104 Voice Modual"
any help would be greatly appreciated

ALSO any one now of an INEXPENSIVE place to get Wired glass break contacts (the type that are applied to the window 5150 or window bug) I tried EBAY but there are none out there

Jacob
 
  #2  
Old 09-17-07, 03:47 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
Check your connections from the module to the keypad bus connection. That's the very first thing in the troubleshooting guide. Also, if you have caller ID and/or DSL, often these can interfere with these modules.

For the glass breaks, websearch using the phrase "shock sensor", or "piezo shock sensor".
 
  #3  
Old 09-17-07, 04:28 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check your connections from the module to the keypad bus connection?

is that the 4 wires that connect to terminals 4,5,6 & 7?

as for the phone its connected to a POTS line.

ALSO
Which is better a Window BUG or the Ademco 5150 shock sensor

Thank you
Jacob
 
  #4  
Old 09-17-07, 06:25 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
Yes, that is the connection that the module communicates with the control panel through.

I've not found any performance differences in the various window shock sensors, pick the one that's on sale, or that looks nicest. They all work on the same basic technology.
 
  #5  
Old 09-18-07, 03:52 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All the Connections are wired correctly and tight
any other ideas?
Thank you
Jacob
 
  #6  
Old 09-18-07, 06:56 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
How about the rest of the connections. Did you follow the diagram on page 2-13 of the Vista 20p install manual. Any deviation can produce problems, is the RJ-31x jack properly wired into he incoming telco?

Either you have a defective unit, or you have a wiring/configuation error. This is a case where remote diagnosis can be very difficult. Second hand info often leaves out critical details.
 
  #7  
Old 09-23-07, 07:54 AM
SameBIG CHIEF's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pageland
Posts: 112
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need a 4286, the 4285 are for older firmware panels. They upgraded probably 3 years ago.
 
  #8  
Old 09-25-07, 07:14 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what do you mean "older firmware panels" how can I tell what my "Firmware" Panel is?

Also If you use more then 1 Keypad can you program from ALL the keypads?

Jacob
 
  #9  
Old 09-26-07, 10:27 AM
SameBIG CHIEF's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pageland
Posts: 112
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Look on the eeprom chip on the board it will tell you the revision number. The 4285 were for all panels prior to the new P series. Yes you can program from any keypad as long as it is addressed and turned on in the panel.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: