Concord 4 and X10


  #1  
Old 10-22-07, 04:52 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Concord 4 and X10

Hello All:
In a separate thread, some of the experienced members
had advised that I would need a Powerline transformer
(600-1024) to get X-10 to work on my Concord 4 panel.
One poster had said that it would be a 4-wire transformer.
Unfortunately, there's not much info on that particular part
number (even on GE's website). The home-technology-store
website has the part but it shows a wallwart with 2 terminals
not 4. I found a Concord 3 -> Concord 4 reference sheet on
GE's website that lists part number 60-762 as the
corresponding number for Concord 3 systems. However,
all sellers show a 2-terminal wallwart. I also found a plug-
in card (60-755) for X-10 functionality.

So, now I'm all confused. Will the Concord 4 panel work
with simply the 600-1024 transformer, or, do I need a
daughter board to hook up into the panel as well ? Also,
will 60-762 work or should I specifically go with 600-1024
even though I've only seen 1 vendor selling it and it doesn't
seem to have the 4 terminals that are required ?

Thanks for the help
 
  #2  
Old 10-22-07, 05:56 PM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The Concord kits come with an X10 transformer (atleast the ones we get at work). They are a standard two-wire transformer.
 
  #3  
Old 10-22-07, 09:09 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by teerex View Post
Hello All:
In a separate thread, some of the experienced members
had advised that I would need a Powerline transformer
(600-1024) to get X-10 to work on my Concord 4 panel.
One poster had said that it would be a 4-wire transformer.
Unfortunately, there's not much info on that particular part
number (even on GE's website). The home-technology-store
website has the part but it shows a wallwart with 2 terminals
not 4. I found a Concord 3 -> Concord 4 reference sheet on
GE's website that lists part number 60-762 as the
corresponding number for Concord 3 systems. However,
all sellers show a 2-terminal wallwart. I also found a plug-
in card (60-755) for X-10 functionality.

So, now I'm all confused. Will the Concord 4 panel work
with simply the 600-1024 transformer, or, do I need a
daughter board to hook up into the panel as well ? Also,
will 60-762 work or should I specifically go with 600-1024
even though I've only seen 1 vendor selling it and it doesn't
seem to have the 4 terminals that are required ?

Thanks for the help
DO NOT put a Concord 3 transformer on a Concord 4!! You will fry the board...Concord 3=24v 40 or 50va
Concord 4=16.5v 40va

Concord 3 you need a Power Line Carrier card as well as a line carrier transformer.

Concord 4 no Power Line Card needed. Just a line carrier transformer.

600-1024 is the one you want for Concord 4.
 
  #4  
Old 10-23-07, 10:01 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by GEGUY View Post
DO NOT put a Concord 3 transformer on a Concord 4!! You will fry the board...Concord 3=24v 40 or 50va
Concord 4=16.5v 40va

Concord 3 you need a Power Line Carrier card as well as a line carrier transformer.

Concord 4 no Power Line Card needed. Just a line carrier transformer.

600-1024 is the one you want for Concord 4.
Thanks much for the heads up, GEGuy. I went ahead and
ordered 600-1024. The sales guy from the vendor said that
GE only needed a 2 wire transformer and the 4-line ones
were used by Ademco systems. Can't wait to get all
the pieces in to tie them into my X-10 system

Cheers
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: