ADT Motion Sensor Problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-28-08, 04:09 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ADT Motion Sensor Problem

I have an ADT Safewatch Plus RF system and am having an issue with one of the motion sensors (Detection Systems model #60-511). The unit detects a low battery, followed by failure every 1-2 months after battery replacement. None of the other sensors, including the other motions, are having problems and batteries last for years.

ADT says they'll come out, but it'll cost me. Does anyone have any advice, including perhaps removing the sensor from the system? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-28-08, 06:38 PM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like a bad transmitter. If you pay ADT to send a tech, make sure they send a tech that is familiar with ITI. These panels can be hand programmed, it is an ITI Commander 2000, customized by ADT. Here is a link to the installation manual.

http://www.sdilink.com/GE%20Manuals/...%20Install.pdf

The programming code should be 6321 or 7123. You may be able to find a replacement model, or you may have to delete the sensor. I'm not sure if the new GE stuff is backwards compatible with this panel.
 
  #3  
Old 01-28-08, 09:37 PM
Integrator97's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 570
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I believe all GE learnmode sensors are backward compatible to other learnmode panels as long as you use the crystal sensors and not the saw. I don't think the older ITI panels were saw compatible. And of course make sure they are 319.5 frequency, though I've never seen anything else from them, but could be.

Caretaker (not plus) and SX-V were not learn mode.
 
  #4  
Old 01-29-08, 07:21 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies (and the link to the installation manual). I think I'd rather delete the sensor since we have cats now and we never set the motions anyway. I just didn't want to pay ADT "a minimum of $134" to do it.

The manual describes how to delete a wireless sensor, so I'll give it a try. Thanks again.
 
  #5  
Old 02-03-08, 02:01 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unfortunately, the programming code is not the default (4321) or the two listed above (6321 or 7123). Nothing happens if I put these codes into the system with the battery cover off, as instructed in the manual. I assume ADT changed the default code upon installation. I could brute force my way through finding the code, but I'm not sure if you can keep punching in numbers until it works.

One thing that doesn't seem to happen as described in the manual is that the "panel's tamper switch is activated and the system begins a 2-minute backup battery test" after removal of the battery cover.

If anyone knows what's going on here, I'd appreciate any help. Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-08, 03:18 PM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Could be the panels tamper switch is stuck closed.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: