Vista 128 compatable with Ademco 5883?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-05-08, 07:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vista 128 compatable with Ademco 5883?

I just upgraded my control panel from a VISTA 15p to a VISTA 128 BP so that I can take advantage of the Home Automation capabilities the 128 is supposed to offer. Half my existing system is wireless and was run through a Ademco 5883. The 5883 was supposed to be compatable with all VISTA Panels but when I installed it on the 128 I can't input any serial numbers. Does anyone know of a compatability problem or some trick in assigning the device addresses that is unique to the 128?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-06-08, 12:09 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,331
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
The 128 is a bit more complex to set this stuff up:

From the 5883 install instructions...
"The 5883 Transceiver has two device addresses: one for
the receiver (addresses 1-7) and one for the transmitter (addresses27-30, similar to the 5800TM device addresses; see notes 5 and 6 below)). First, select a pair of addresses from the table below, making sure that neither address is currently being used in the alarm system, then use DIP switches 2-4 to set the address pair. The addresses should then be programmed in the control. Do not program the transmitter’s address in the control if the 5883 is not being used with 5800TM compatible devices, such as the 5804BD."

The default address of 00 used for a Vista 20p doesn't work for a 128. In addition, I think you have to use the *93 menu to activate all of the bi-directional functions.
 
  #3  
Old 04-12-08, 07:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy VISTA 128 and 5883 transceiver

I've tried that. Here's what I've done so far. Wired the receiver - red - power, black - ground, green - data out, yellow - data in. Set the dip switches as follows: 1 - off, 2 - on, 3 - on, 4 - off, 5 - off, 6 - on, 7 - off, 8 - off. My reading of the installation instructions tells me that my transmitter is device address 29 and receiver address is 6. Enter programming mode via installer code + 8000. Get to the *93 menu and scroll to device programming. Set device address 6 as 03 - RF Expander and then set my house id number (1 through 30) lets say its 15 as an example. Then set device address 29 as an alpha keypad. I exit, reset the system and then reenter programming mode. I try to use expert programming to address my keys using template 3 or 6 depending on whether they are bi-directional or not. I confirm the zone type settings and get to the input serial number screen. I try to transmit the serial numbers but the system will not pick them up. The system then freezes and requires power to be removed in order to reset. Any ideas?
 
  #4  
Old 04-13-08, 01:36 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,331
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
Did you enter a partition number in 1*48? That's the only thing that I can see that you didn't mention, and it's disabled by default, but has to have a partition matching the ones for the bidirectional devices.
 
  #5  
Old 04-16-08, 09:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
VISTA 128 problems with Ademco 5883

So I took the 5883 off the VISTA 128 panel and bench tested it with a VISTA 50-PEN...same configuration as described before. No problems what so ever! The 5883 and VISTA 50 PEN worked perfectly. Wireless zones - 2 smoke detectors, 2 glass breaks, and 2 motion detectors as well as 2 5804 keyfobs and 2 5804BD keyfobs all enrolled perfectly. I just wish I could figure out whether there is a compatability problem or a warranty issue with the VISTA 128 panel. Anyone have any ideas? Ron my friend, what do you think?
 
  #6  
Old 04-16-08, 09:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh by the way...

And as an oh by the way, does anyone know the real differences between the VISTA 128 BP and the VISTA 50-PEN? The panels look virtually identical and the capabilities look virtually identical as well. I guess my specific concern is whether the VISTA 50PEN will support the home automation connection via the 4200 card and serial cable like the VISTA 128 will. Thoughts?
 
  #7  
Old 04-16-08, 09:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correction to my last post...

My fat fingers typed 4200 when I meant the 4100SM card and serial cable combo... just for clarity sake.
 
  #8  
Old 04-21-08, 11:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Figured it out!!!

So I figured it out. Complete operator error but good lessons learned. I forgot to connect the negative jumper from the supplimental power source to the control panel. Missing that jumper, anything powered by the supplimental power source had erratic results. It effected comms to and from the panel but had the appearance of being properly powered. Strange but glad I figured it out. Hope my mistake helps someone else...
 
  #9  
Old 04-21-08, 06:13 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,331
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
Ah, yes, without that grounding bond, the two power supplies will start playing a bit of "push-me pull-you" and electronics doesn't play nicely with that behavior...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: