Help with 6150RF Keypad

Old 04-22-08, 06:50 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with 6150RF Keypad

I am a newbie but have learned a lot through this forum.

I have a Vista 20P with one keypad - a 6150RF. I have purchased a 5804 keyfob as I want the ability to arm/disarm the system from the upstairs bedroom. Although the keypad has RF, there are no wireless devices on the system.

I want to program the keyfob from the existing keypad. Since I do not plan on any more enhancements, I do not want to spend the money on a 6160 keypad.

The first issue is that the installer has locked out programming by exiting with a *98. When I try to enter programming using installercode +8+0+0, I get a long beep. I understand that the only way I can get to programming is to enter * and # within 50 seconds of powering down/up. Can someone please tell me the proper sequence of powering down/up and if I should be concerned about an alarm being sent to the monitoring company? Also, if I get into programming and simply exit with a *99, will I then be able to get into programming without powering down the next time?

Also, assuming that I get into programming, can someone please help with programming "blind" for the new keyfob? I would appreciate a step by step instruction for dummies. The default settings for the buttons on the keyfob are fine with me.

Thanks much.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-22-08, 07:43 AM
You can program the fob locally into the 6150RF without getting into programming. It involves tripping the tamper on the keypad, by removing the unit from the mounting plate, then holding down 1+3. You should see flashing oo and --, for step by step instructions on adding the fob, look at the 6150RF manual.

Good luck!

Old 04-22-08, 08:47 AM
Thanks for the quick reply. A couple of questions:

- when you say "trip the tamper" is that the same as removing the keypad from the mounting plate?