ADT system - How to get function w/o ADT service?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-03-08, 02:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool ADT system - How to get function w/o ADT service?

I have a neighbor that bought a winter home here in Fla. 2 years ago. It has an ADT alarm system but never used it. We just powered it back up and it seems ok. Has a 6150 Honeywell keypad etc. We would like to just use alarm with out phone service. It has a flashing FC code (communication failure). Is it possible to use the alarm without ADT? How can you shut off the FC ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-03-08, 11:47 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,331
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
Read through the FAQ for this topic, and read over the various posts about Ademco clone systems. In general, it's very easy to erase the ADT dialer numbers and make it a local system (FC means "Failure to communicate".

The odds are that you have a Safewatch 3000 which is a clone of the Ademco Vista 20P.
 
  #3  
Old 05-04-08, 07:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's up and running

It's a Vista 20. We got the box open. We even had lost the master code but used a "procedure" we found on the net to get it back. It's working now. No FC alarm anymore.

The only thing that is not functioning correctly is the motion detector. It will operate correctly but it won't set off the alarm. Only the doors set off the alarm.

If anyone know what's up with that. I can see the light on the motion come on. The keypad will recognize the ready /not ready state. But it won't set of the alarm.
 
  #4  
Old 05-04-08, 09:48 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,331
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
If you don't open and close the entry/exit door when you arm the system, the panel auto-bypasses interior devices like the motion. It's not a bug, it's an anti-false alarm feature.
 
  #5  
Old 05-04-08, 10:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks

Thanks... we'll test that out....
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: