wireless security

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-22-08, 07:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wireless security

my name is Dan, I'm new to the forum, anyway my wife and I just bought a new house and we're looking to get a wireless security system that's affordable...and I wouldn't mind installing it myself, any suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-22-08, 11:33 AM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would look into the GE Concord 4, it is a great system and very DIY friendly.
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-08, 01:51 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
For wireless home security, the GE Simon 3 is a great system. Its user friendly, simple to install, and offers a lot of functionality. The Concord is a good system, but its more of a hybrid panel, not purely wireless. Good luck.
 
  #4  
Old 07-22-08, 06:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SE-PA USA
Posts: 342
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have the Concord 4, and it's a very flexable system. It is indeed a hybrid system, but the wireless works well, and it's very expandable. If you shop around, the panel can be had pretty inexpensively. eBay is a good place to look for the GE wireless stuff, I've found a lot of new stuff at far below what the security sites are charging for the same items.
 
  #5  
Old 07-25-08, 04:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by gunrunnerjohn View Post
I have the Concord 4, and it's a very flexable system. It is indeed a hybrid system, but the wireless works well, and it's very expandable. If you shop around, the panel can be had pretty inexpensively. eBay is a good place to look for the GE wireless stuff, I've found a lot of new stuff at far below what the security sites are charging for the same items.
exactly..... ebay..

I got my concord 4 kit for $90 to my door... brand new...

then added a few items (not much as I have all wireless now)

but I have the unit up and running... havent got to call adt and cancel yet.. maybe today... and get the panel in this weekend....


When people reference the concord 4 as hybrid.. does that mean because you can have hard wired devices too?

the only hard wired devices I have are:
concord 4 keypad
external speaker

I have the following wireless devices:
9 door window sensors
2 glassbreaks
1 motion
1 water detector (will get a second later)
2 smoke detectors
1 keyfob
 
  #6  
Old 07-25-08, 05:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SE-PA USA
Posts: 342
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yep, the Concord 4 has 8 wired channels and the wireless capability. The keypads and speakers are not part of the 8 channels. Mine has three keypads at various locations. I also had to include an aux power supply, the 1A from the panel wasn't enough.

My system is mostly wired, I have 24 wired channels on my Concord, and some wireless devices where wired would be a problem. I replaced an existing Napco 900 panel that was 18 years old with this one, so most of the wiring was already in place.
 
  #7  
Old 08-06-08, 07:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 87
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can wireless cameras be integrated with this system ? What about software that can be used to control it and allow for sending a text message to a cellphone. Even better, the pictures that the camera(s) take, emailed to a specified address ?
 
  #8  
Old 08-06-08, 07:23 PM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sure, with the alarm.com gateway and alarm.com subscription
 
  #9  
Old 08-06-08, 07:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 87
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, thats probably not for me then. I want something I integrate with my own pc ( I have several) with no outside monitoring. I want to monitor the system myself. What about some of the sytems that x10.com sells ?
 
  #10  
Old 08-07-08, 05:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SE-PA USA
Posts: 342
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by BitShift View Post
I want to monitor the system myself. What about some of the sytems that x10.com sells ?
You can monitor the Concord yourself if you like, I don't see that as an issue. However, given that AlarmRelay has full time fire/intrusion monitoring for $8.95/mo, I'm hard pressed to come up with a good reason to have DIY monitoring. There's no way you can be available 24/7, and I'd like the fire department to respond to a fire even when I'm not there, wouldn't you?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes