Safewatch Plus RF how to disable phone dialer??

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-18-08, 11:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Safewatch Plus RF how to disable phone dialer??

Hello.

I have a safewatch plus rf security system. I just use the hardware to monitor home.

Recently i canceled my home phone. Using cell phones as primary.

Now my trouble lights comes one and gives an error voice stating trouble when i activate my alarm. Not a big deal.

How can i disable the the phone line dialer error?

Thanks in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-18-08, 04:33 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,297
Received 36 Votes on 35 Posts
This is a ADT modified version of the ITI Commander 2000 (according to my sources). It is _possible_ the the dialer is hard coded with ADT central station info, and it can't be changed (this was reportedly done to some versions).

Websearch using the phrase: "ITI Commander 2000 installer manual"

There should be a couple of free sources near the top of the results.

The most likely change will be that the installer code will probably be 6321.

Do _NOT_ try to use the memory clear function. It will not remove the phone numbers from the dialer, but will wipe everything else.

Once you get into programming the command sequence FIRE + FIRE + BYPASS + 1 is supposed to delete the dialer phone number, which should make it stop trying to dial. Again, realize that there is a fair chance that ADT locked out the ability to do this.
 
  #3  
Old 08-24-08, 09:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ron, thank yo for the info. Excellent links. System wouldn't allow me to do what you said. Can't seem to get it into program mode.

Do you have any insigt into powering the system down completely?

Thanks again!
 
  #4  
Old 08-24-08, 11:18 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,297
Received 36 Votes on 35 Posts
I sort of suspected as much. These panels, once setup, were very commonly set with pretty strong dealer lockouts. When they were commonly being marketed, a large percentage of security systems were _leased_ instead of purchased.

Remove the batteries, and unplug the transformer from whatever wall plug it's currently plugged into.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: