DSC PC1832 programming help

Old 12-12-08, 10:38 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSC PC1832 programming help

I'm a security systems student having a bit of trouble with programming. For example 50% of what I try goes wrong and it's time consuming getting it right. Anyway, I'm about to terminate a smoke detector (class b fire loop with power supervision; there's a 5.6k resistor between the N/O and the N/O. Do I wire the power to the Aux + Aux- or Aux+ and PGM out. Do you have any other quick tips. Thanks.

Old 12-13-08, 07:06 AM
I am not a pro, but I did install this system in my home.
The wiring is pretty clear in the installation manual, and it is downloadable if you dont have one.
On a 2 wire detector you should be using a 2200Ω SEOL
Connect the positive side of the detector to to AUX+
Connect the negative side to PGM 1 or 2 depending on your detector, the PGM output on this unit is as follows
PGM 1,3,4 = 50mA
PGM 2 300mA

My DSC FSA 410 series detector uses PGM 1

Hope this helps

Old 12-13-08, 10:48 AM
B
BCIT Student

Thanks, the smoke detector requires 12v although I'll double check this and the EOL is 5.6K, which I'll also double check.

Old 12-13-08, 11:06 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 116 Votes on 107 Posts
There are two diffferent configurations; 1 for 4 wire smokes and 1 for 2 wire smokes.

The 4 wire smokes use the standard 5.6k resistor. The alarm connection goes to a standard zone set as a fire zone. The power connects to Aux + and PGM2. Program the PGM as type 03 (sensor reset).

The 2-wire smoke uses the 2.2k resistor. Connect the + connection to Aux + and the - connection to PGM2. Program the output as 04 (2 wire support).

That resistor on the 4 wire should be between COM and NO(out) (if your smokes are labled like most). The zone wire is on COM and the other NO (in).

Old 12-13-08, 02:02 PM
B
bcitstudent