How do I enable the receiver on 6160rf

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-09-09, 08:50 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I enable the receiver on 6160rf

I'm attempting to install a Vista 20p using a 6160rf as the main keypad and a 6150 (16) as the second keypad (17). All went well untill I tried to install a wireless motion detector on zone 9. I got check 100 error. I started reading various post online and most stated to power-up, hold 1 &3, address the keypad to 16 and the receiver to 0. The problem is after addressing the keypad to 16, there isn't an option to set the receiver to 0. Hours later, I *97 to start from scratch, I got rid of the check 100 but still no option for the receiver. Any suggestionions will be greatly appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-09-09, 09:16 AM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Make sure you have the manual for the 6160RF. Gently remove keypad from the backplate to trip the tamper, then reaffix. Now press 1+3, you should then see 00 _ _ alternating. This is where you program the receiver.
 
  #3  
Old 05-09-09, 09:53 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have the manual and can't find a tamper on the 6160rf.
 
  #4  
Old 05-09-09, 02:20 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,640
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Are you _sure_ you have a RF model keypad? What does the label on the motherboard say?
 
  #5  
Old 05-09-09, 03:06 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is a white sticker on the smaller pc board with K0692 and printed directly on the larger board is SA6160G-10 and just below that is W198016 G331. What I bought is a 6160rf, but no, I'm not sure that is what I have. Thanks in advance for you help.
 
  #6  
Old 05-09-09, 04:20 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,640
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
That should have 6160RF somewhere in that part number, you may not have the keypad you think you have.

If you power down the keypad and press 1 + 3 within 30 seconds of restoring power it should show "CONADDRESS= xx". If so, press * and it should next show "RECEIVER ON".

If you don't see those prompts, you don't have a RF model.
 
  #7  
Old 05-09-09, 04:43 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I double checked and there is no mention of 6160rf inside my keypad. After power-up, 1+3, confirm address 16, *, then it goes to to a blank screen for a few seconds and then busy standy-by D1.
 
  #8  
Old 05-09-09, 05:28 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,640
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
I don't think that you have a RF model keypad. That may be what you paid for, but it's not what you have.
 
  #9  
Old 05-09-09, 06:28 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all of your help. I will take it up with the seller.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: