6150adt keypads??

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-12-09, 08:27 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
6150adt keypads??

I installed a safewatch pro adt 3000 in my home. I purchaced the unit off of ebay. I had an alarm tech from a monitoring co (not ADT)program my system with his own keypad I believe it was a 6139. This alarm box came with two keypads 6150ADT that were in plastic and in a box and appeared to be new. The tech was not able to get those keypads to work the keypad screens show blank. Is there anything I can do to get the 6150adt keypads to communicate with the panel? If I have to buy new keypads what keypads should I purchase. The book that came with this panel said it needed 6150adt and 6160adt. If the 6150adt keypad that came with the alarm does not work BUT the 6139 did. Does anyone have any suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-13-09, 04:10 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,645
Received 89 Votes on 83 Posts
The SW 3000 is a slightly modified Vista 20p. There's no special magic about the ADT labeled keypads. Your most likely issue is that the keypads need to be addressed and the addresses need to be activated in the system programming.

http://www.alarmeengros.com/installation15P.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 05-13-09, 07:22 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
keypads

Originally Posted by MrRonFL View Post
The SW 3000 is a slightly modified Vista 20p. There's no special magic about the ADT labeled keypads. Your most likely issue is that the keypads need to be addressed and the addresses need to be activated in the system programming.

http://www.alarmeengros.com/installation15P.pdf
Thank's for the help. I followed the directions from the link you provided and I was able to get one of the keypads to operate.
I turned off the power,
Then I turned it back on
I held keys 1 and 3 down and zeroed the address
On the first keypad I entered address 16 and then *
(it worked) on the first keypad at address 16
I went through the same sequence for the second keypad except I entered 17 and then * but no luck. Still a blank screen on the second keypad.
 
  #4  
Old 05-13-09, 11:56 AM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you enable keypad address 17, this has to be done in programming for the second keypad to work.
 
  #5  
Old 05-13-09, 01:46 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
6150 keypad

Originally Posted by kcxj View Post
Did you enable keypad address 17, this has to be done in programming for the second keypad to work.

I read that address 17 had to be enabled in field 190. Can this be done with the 6150 or do I need a 6139/6160 alpha keypad to enable address 17?
 
  #6  
Old 05-13-09, 01:51 PM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This can be done with a 6150
 
  #7  
Old 05-13-09, 02:39 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Alarm tech did not know how to address a keypad? ouch.
 
  #8  
Old 05-13-09, 06:13 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
6150 keypads

Thank's for this great forum. I was able to muddle my way through and get it done.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: