I think I killed it.

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-13-09, 08:23 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face I think I killed it.

Hey guys,

Today i tried to re-program my Vista 15p 6160 keypad becuse it called my phone 15 times when there was no alarm.

well, I think i turn some things on that i should have not.

i get the following now.

CHECK 100 RF REC.
CHECK 103 LNGRNG 0000
CHECK 104 VOICE
TELCO (i disconnected the phone line)

I was going to go in and turn them off but when i push 4112 + 800 it just beeps.

any help?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-13-09, 08:36 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northeast
Posts: 75
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
From MrRonFL Stickys (Alarm FAQ)

Retrieving Installer code
Nearly all Ademco family (this includes First Alert, Security Link, and several ADT models) panels can retrieve the Installer code by disconnecting the battery, then the AC power. Wait a minute, then reconnect power in the opposite order. Within 50 seconds, on any keypad press * + # at the same time. Unless the system has had an installer lockout feature activated, the panel should go into program mode. The details by system will vary, but the programming section number that shows on the display will be the location for the installer code (on _most_ panels this will be 20). Key in # and the location number, and the panel will read back the installer code one digit at a time. Exit program mode using *99.
 
  #3  
Old 05-14-09, 05:09 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
4112 will still arm and disarm the system so I dont think I changed the installer code without knowing it.

Do you think I might have locked it out.

It just beeps when i push 4112 + 800
 
  #4  
Old 05-14-09, 06:10 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is what I program as I can remember.

*20 = 4112
*21 = 1
*23 = 0
*24 = 01
*25 =
*26 = 1
*27 = 2
*28 = 11
*29 = 1
*31 = 0
*32 = 1
*33 = 4
*34 = 60
*35 = 60
*36 = 60
*37 = 0
*38 = 1
*39 = 1
*40 =
*41 = my number
*42 = Wife Number
*45 =
*47 = 1
*48 = 7
*49 = 0
*50 = 0
*53 = 0
*54 = 11
*55 = 1
*88 = 2 (Not used)
 

Last edited by Archonis; 05-14-09 at 07:28 AM.
  #5  
Old 05-14-09, 11:33 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What info will be needed to login with compass.
If this is the route that i need to take.
 
  #6  
Old 05-14-09, 03:47 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northeast
Posts: 75
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You couldn't have locked yourself out if you've already been in program mode and haven't programmed with compass. Do the steps above and confirm the installer code. Always exit with *99 so you can get back in without powering down.
 
  #7  
Old 05-14-09, 03:52 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,640
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
*88 should have been 0, for standard *98 behavior. 2 (not used) is a entry being reserved for future design changes. Entering that 2 can produce unpredictable results.

Do not get into the habit of arming and disarming with the installer code. Set the master code and use that. If you arm with any other method (i.e. Quick Arm), the installer code will not disarm the system.

You should still be able to get back into programming with * + #. Once you do so correct *88, and always exit programming with *99.

*24 should be 00 unless you actually have wireless keypads.

*26 should be 0 unless you are trying to _only_ allow specific zones to chime.

*27 only matters if you actually have powerline (x-10) type devices and the correct transformer to connect with them.

*28 should be 00 if you do not actually _have_ a 4285/4286 phone module.

*29 should be 0 if you do not have a cellular communicator installed.

*37 should be 1 for on unless you are adamant about not hearing the exit countdown. It keeps you from making false trips.

*38 should be 0 unless you actually _want_ to hear the siren squawk each time the exit delay runs out

Since you are trying to call cell phones delete the numbers in *41 and *42. To try to call a cell phone, you use the pager programming in locations *160 - *172
 
  #8  
Old 05-14-09, 06:10 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tried bring it down and back up like you said a few times but i just get a long beep and does not let me in. any more tips?
 
  #9  
Old 05-14-09, 06:48 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northeast
Posts: 75
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When you power it down (AC and BAT) and power it up, are you pressing * and # together, or are you trying the installer code 8 0 0 ? If you're pressing * and # together and you can't get in, I have no idea.
 
  #10  
Old 05-14-09, 07:02 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i am using # an * togeather.

wonders if smeone with compass can call my house. i made a mid-shift cable to use my labtop but that was a no go
 
  #11  
Old 05-14-09, 07:33 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,640
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Hmm, I'm beginning to think that that "not used" setting on *88 locks out local programming access.

The only gambit left is to power down fully, and have a helper hold * + # _while_ you restore AC power. If that doesn't jump into programming, then you have truly locked yourself out of this motherboard, and compass is your last option.
 
  #12  
Old 05-15-09, 06:55 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Anyone have compass they can dail into my home or let me borrow there modem.

I promis i will ship it back
 
  #13  
Old 05-15-09, 06:44 PM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good luck with that...there used to be some online places that would do it. Jim Rojas comes to mind.
 
  #14  
Old 05-18-09, 11:54 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok so we all know I am going to have to use compass. I do not have a serial port on my computer. I have made a cable with the risistor that goes to my + & - aux power. I tried to connect to the panel with no luck. What all am I going to need.

I dont think the CID has been changed and i have search all over this board with no luck. All I find is where users wanted to use compass to program there systems and the reply is always the same. DONT USE IT, its a pain to do. Just use the kaypad.

Well. In my case that is not a option and there is no wheres to be found for support for it.

Any help guys?
 
  #15  
Old 05-18-09, 03:17 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,640
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
The trick is that you have to figure out the modem setup strings that makes compass think your modern modem looks like one of the ones it was designed for, like the Hays 1200 (and if you have a "soft" modem, like most modern computers, it's even harder..."

This is where you either find someone who has compass up and running and uses it a lot, and have them access your system and fix whatever's locking out local programming; or figure out the right modem config strings; or replace the board.

Those are your choices. Sorry, but there's really no workaround. Even the network connect module requires you to be able to access programming to configure it.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: